Ceres
Drag It Down On You


4.5
superb

Review

by keza USER (20 Reviews)
January 22nd, 2019 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I can hear you spittin’ in the shower, I can hear you pissin’ in the gutter.

Australian music is in a pretty incredible place. Artists like Courtney Barnett, The Smith Street Band (affectionately referred to by us locals as The Smithies), and countless others prove that. In this incredible crowd, it’s inevitable that amazing artists will be lost. Ceres are one of these, being perhaps one of the most underrated emo-leaning bands I’ve come across yet.

Upon first listen, ‘Drag It Down on You’ sounds somewhat amateurish, but quickly reveals itself to be incredibly earnest and well-constructed. The band reveals the album’s bleakness from the outset, with the anti-love song opener ‘Okay’ giving way to the similarly-themed ‘Happy in Your Head’. Over simple yet catchy instrumentals, vocalist Tom Lanyon agonises over unrequited love (“Kiss your forehead, I'm in love/(…) Miss your boyfriend, you're in love”). The sweetly sad ‘Roll Ur Eyes’ follows with a satisfying blend of acoustic-driven pop-punk and emo, on which Lanyon’s emotional vocals couple brilliantly with the track’s simple nostalgia. This illustrates a skill Ceres implements better than many of their contemporaries – making a simply composed track stand out based on incredible performances above all else.

Even among a crowd of emo bands, Ceres hold a uniquely gut-wrenching quality, to which they can partially credit their darkly grounded lyrics. The chorus on ’91 Your House’ lays itself bare (“They’ll put you in the ground, but the dirt don’t deserve you”). Meanwhile, the end of ‘Loaf’ – a track Hotelier fans should enjoy – Lanyon circularly roars “If I told you I wanna die, would you come then, come if I…"”. In this regard, Smithies comparisons may be drawn with Ceres, though I will say Ceres are better at implementing the “keep it simple, stupid” idea in many places. For example, the quietly gorgeous ‘Loner Blood’ sounds analogous to the Smithies’ ‘Passiona’; though instead of waxing poetic, Ceres make lines as simple as “I’m happy for you now/ but goddamn, I wanna change” work equally in their favour.

From understated moments like ‘Us’ through the unbelievable closing track ‘Baby’s Breath’, ‘Drag It Down on You’ proves itself to be a deeply underrated effort. Ahead of their 2018 single Viv in the Front Seat, the band released a video on Facebook, whose voiceover states:

“I sort of thought I got to the bottom of everything on [Drag it Down on You], and that’s where I’d stay. (…) And then as it does, the clouds break, and you fall in love, and you find something to drag you up off the bottom again.”

For Ceres, their emotional bottom just happens to have produced an incredible musical high point than any habitual punk or emo listener should check out.



Recent reviews by this author
Ceres Selfish PrickCeres Luck
Kayak Jones Sort Out Your HeadThe Story So Far Proper Dose
Void Of Vision DisturbiaMidnight Oil Head Injuries
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
keza
January 22nd 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a pretty quick one, haven't felt much like writing lately but glad to be back at it. Critiques welcome as per usual. This album is very good and this band needs more attention outside of Melbourne, thoroughly worth a listen.



To stream:

https://open.spotify.com/album/3DRxxs7gJ6QXn2p10amfF7?si=LrSjjSFWQtqWlX1OMmYSQg

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2019


6924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review!

Like I said in the other thread, Baby's Breath is seriously one of the most powerful songs I've ever heard

Digging: The Dangerous Summer - Mother Nature

schoonda
January 22nd 2019


1674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

so glad this finally has a review. The back half of this is amazing and Baby's Breath is indeed powerful Freddie.

Digging: Karnivool - Sound Awake

keza
January 22nd 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Baby's Breath is so good. Good to see these guys have some appreciation around here, one of my favourite local acts and definitely among the best live bands I've seen to date.

joshieboy
January 22nd 2019


6650 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Always heard good things about this band, a good friend of mine is obsessed with em. Will check this.

keza
January 23rd 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yes, hopefully you like it dude. They're one of a kind.

schoonda
January 23rd 2019


1674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

do check joshie they rule. saw them a month ago and still rule. new tracks haven't been blowing my mind but hopefully the new album still rules

keza
January 23rd 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Viv in the Front Seat kinda blows but I find Kiss Me Crying really sweet, hoping there's some more engaging performances on the record though.

schoonda
January 23rd 2019


1674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

aha man I'm the opposite, found Kiss Me Crying to be a massive snoozer. Hopefully we get an announcement soon

joshieboy
January 25th 2019


6650 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Checked this. Nice chilled out triple j vibes ha

Observer
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


6823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh shit i missed this



choke, del-del, and 91 your house are killer

keza
January 27th 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nearly everything on this is killer

Observer
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2019


6823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its missing something from the debut though. I like that its longer, but some tracks feel incomplete and not that purposeful in relation to the album path.

keza
January 29th 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess so, like I'm not super into laundry echo but it's passable to me

On another I just discovered their Selfish Prick EP and holy shit. Woodwork might be their most pissed off song ever and it rules. Holy shit.

schoonda
January 29th 2019


1674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah selfish prick ep is fantaastic, 3 absolute killer tunes.

keza
January 29th 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And that artwork just does something to me man. Represents that music so aptly.

schoonda
January 29th 2019


1674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

not sure if its on youtube anymore man but I think the music vid for collarbone is the process of them making the artwork for the ep, worth a look

keza
January 29th 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn't even know it existed...just checked it out though, such a wholesome little moment for a dark little EP. Hope they start playing some of that material again in live sets.

schoonda
January 29th 2019


1674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

don't recall much of those songs ever being played, definitely not in the last 2 years anyway

keza
January 30th 2019


353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah fair enough

It'll always baffle me that the Aussie music scene puts trash like Camp Cope and The Chats in the spotlight instead of gems like these guys and TFS



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy