Born of Osiris
The Simulation


2.5
average

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
January 14th, 2019 | 160 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Born of Osiris by the numbers, packaged for those with better things to do.

The day Born of Osiris circled back to an average EP length/borderline mini-LP runtime really was a long time coming. In fact, it’s a day that’s yet to come for too many bands of their ilk, the somewhat dying breed of technical/prog/death/djent/whatever splashed metal bands. That’s not to say they never pulled off longer albums well (The Discovery could’ve used some trimming, but was otherwise great), but this sort of music, at least when it’s not executed extremely well, is best listened to in short bursts. The Simulation, as a result, is their most easily listened to record since they debuted on The New Reign (also a mini-LP), though it’s come along a bit too late to ignore Born of Osiris’ stagnant musical growth.

The Simulation is Born of Osiris by the numbers. It trends far more closely to the stuff they’ve been peddling on their last two albums, especially material along the lines of what was found on Soul Sphere. In short, that means a lot of staccato chugging rhythms and spacey electronics whirling around over the top. “Disconnectome” stands out thanks to a very traditionally tech death inspired intro and “Under The Gun” is memorable, if not that well put together, through the use of a synth hook that would fit on just about any radio pop hit. Ultimately, that’s about all the album has going for it. There’s a lot of breakdowns masquerading as verses and bridges while half-sung/half-screamed choruses are far too common, but this is the same stuff Born of Osiris has been writing for years now. If you liked Born of Osiris at all in the last four years, there’s something here for you and it’s conveniently succinct at only twenty six minutes, but there’s nothing here that will pull in fans that weren’t already seeking them out.



Recent reviews by this author
Vimur Triumphant Master of FatesHate Eternal Upon Desolate Sands
Cultes Des Ghoules SinisterHorrendous Idol
Bosse-de-Nage Further StillThou Magus
user ratings (181)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Brendan Schroer (4)
The Rediscovery...


Comments:Add a Comment 
justajammin
January 14th 2019


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Part 1 of 2

Digging: Inferi (USA) - The End of an Era | Rebirth

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2019


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

bit of a filler review on my part, planning to cover the new rotting christ and oddly have high hopes for it so that one may be better

bloc
January 14th 2019


55027 Comments


Pfft

Digging: The Chemical Brothers - No Geography

sonictheplumber
January 14th 2019


10374 Comments


turd music

Faraudo
January 14th 2019


2808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, it's a solid album.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2019


15464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The short length works in their favor but yep, it's just alright.

Digging: Ioanna Gika - Thalassa

Hawks
January 14th 2019


69189 Comments


Band blowz yeah. [59382825838]

Digging: Hecate Enthroned - Embrace Of The Godless Aeon

pizzamachine
January 14th 2019


14151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great album like usual, it is catchy.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2019


9387 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Fitting review, album is the best thing they’ve put out ever - too bad it’s still bad

Toondude10
January 14th 2019


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

my thoughts exactly for the most part



the more I listen to this, the more the production irks me

Digging: Devin Townsend - Empath

brettgoespunk
January 15th 2019


281 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Under the Gun is sweet. That's just about the only thing I got form this record though.

AgentDeathbat
January 15th 2019


9752 Comments


glad this is only 26 minutes, I dug The Discovery hard but I had a sinking feeling about the albums afterwards. Maybe this will push me to try the other post-Richardson albums as well when I try it out

Digging: Periphery - Periphery IV: Hail Stan

Hawks
January 15th 2019


69189 Comments


The Discovery blowz ahrd too agreed. m/en

Asura14
January 15th 2019


205 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Will give this one a listen, feel like I'll enjoy it more than I probably should

Digging: Numenorean - Adore

Asura14
January 15th 2019


205 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

After a first listen Under The Gun is definitely the track that seems worthwhile.... A little experimentation wouldn't hurt these guys tho

Imo, there are some glimpses of a better album in this when some of the cleaner vocals kick in, Analogs in a Cell could of been a really good track

JayEnder
January 15th 2019


3516 Comments


The music video for Cycles of Tragedy is the cheesiest shit I’ve ever seen

Firedust
January 15th 2019


895 Comments


Yes, Hawks, the Discovery does indeed blow hard.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2019


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Actually cannot stand this weird recurring trope of half sung/half screamed chorus vocals metalcore and deathcore bands adopt when they either never had clean singing before or couldn’t find a real one to join their band.

JayEnder
January 15th 2019


3516 Comments


Under the Gun was cool. These guys define hit or miss

ProjectFreak
January 15th 2019


3535 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

production is so bad it made me think my audio drivers had just given up for some reason



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy