Forests Spending Eternity In A Japanese Convenience Store
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2019


7840 Comments


Yeah this is usually totally my type of thing but idk something about this really rubbed me the wrong way for some reason

Digging: Marika Hackman - Any Human Friend

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2019


9800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Aw fuck the page break buried my comment

Digging: The Offering - Home

Hawks
January 17th 2019


73051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm idk bro I thought this was fun as hell. Lyrics kinda suck but the vox are amazing. This is pretty much exactly what I love in terms of emo.

Digging: Dead Can Dance - The Serpent's Egg

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2019


9800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Like I said, it's a diet Free Throw. Everything they do has been done better. Riffs don't feel as particularly engaging as I've seen them portrayed as. The lyrics are such a focus simply because emo tends to be defined by its poetic/personal/confessional/etc. presentation, so faults in that are usually clear to the listener and turn out to be detrimental.

Hawks
January 17th 2019


73051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hear you. I’ve never been one to pay a lot of attention to lyrics so maybe hats why I don’t particularly care haha. I dig the riffs though honestly.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2019


9800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That's fair enough. The lyrics are a big part for me because the style they employ pushes them to the forefront and, as I said, lyrics are what help define emo. It's a veeery malleable genre as it is, and that's one of the few pillars of it that can help draw boundaries/distinguish it.



But hey, if you're digging it and having fun don't let me run the train off the rails, carry on.

McTime50
January 17th 2019


883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Personally, I just see these guys as diet Tiny Moving Parts instead of diet Free Throw. Makes more sense with some of the lyrics and whatnot.



It's more a 'fun' release that I find myself not being too hard on it, something that'd be cool to shout along to at a live show. It's not a lot of substance but they're nice to jam.

McTime50
January 17th 2019


883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i also don't blame the negs, this was just a quick writeup for a thread. i got a malibu ken review coming up tomorrow though, that's got more effort in it.

hal1ax
January 18th 2019


13880 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is tight



and yea i don't rly give a fuck about lyrics. vox / vocal melodies are great as is the guitar work. super fun

Hawks
January 18th 2019


73051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep agreed ahrd.

AdolfChrist
January 18th 2019


21908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do care about lyrics but the performances are good enough that i can look past them.

Digging: Vessels - Helioscope

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2019


15786 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The lyrics are kinda funny tbh. Love the Room references on This Town Needs Fun

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2019


16440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Was going through some January releases and I just realized I never jammed this. 3 tracks in and yeah it's good fun. Not my thing, but it's good.

Digging: Cross Record - Cross Record

Hawks
February 6th 2019


73051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Average for this is horse shit.

tom79
February 9th 2019


3689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is a really fun record

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2019


25736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is v cool

Digging: Unholy Vampyric Slaughter Sect - Order of the Rose Cross

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2019


24910 Comments


will this album just make me miss Marietta?

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2019


9800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Did you ever stop?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2019


24910 Comments


no I didn't...
ive given this band a cursory glance thats prob the best analogy i have with them...dig what i've read tho

AdolfChrist
February 18th 2019


21908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fun eemz jamz



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy