Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch Blade Runner 2049
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoofDoof
January 6th 2019


1707 Comments


Row - I prefer Blade Runner 2049 to the original

I'll concede the flaws in the original actually perhaps add to the charm in some ways but it's still not up there with my absolute favourite films.

The new one might just be - though I've only watched it once

Digging: Bobbie Gentry - The Delta Sweete

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


41016 Comments


yup. original feels overlong and sluggish at like 90 minutes, 2049 is beautifully paced and I wouldn't cut a second of it. and that's not even broaching the visuals and cinematography etc where Villenevue clearly wins out by a mile

Digging: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - Bird Box (Abridged)

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There have been talks about a third movie with Scott stating he's got on more story being developed.



I really hope Scotty wouldn't get involved with the film. Just serve as a consultant.



"that's not even broaching the visuals and cinematography etc where Villenevue clearly wins out by a mile"



well, in that case, the praise should go to the cinematographer, Roger Deakins. It's incredible how people neglect/are not aware of cinematographers.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


17987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

He did Mad Max Fury Road too, definitely my favorite cinematographer, at least this past decade. Both these movies are masterpieces and pretty much my favorite visual style for fantasy/sci-fi.

StrikeOfTheBeast
January 6th 2019


3667 Comments


@Alex you'd be surprised. It's not anywhere near as polarizing as The Last Jedi per say, but some people REALLY hate this movie.

Digging: Liege Lord - Master Control

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


17987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

2049 isn't really for a wide audience, it's high-concept and slow-moving as fuck.

StrikeOfTheBeast
January 6th 2019


3667 Comments


That explains the large budget versus its box office returns. The movie was really great though. I'd like to see a sequel for it.

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is slow pacing and that's why i believe it should be 20 minutes shorter. But great movie nontheless.

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"He did Mad Max Fury Road too"



John Seale did fury road dude, which was his last work.



Nontheless, with movies such as barton fink, shawshank redemption, no country for old men, sicario, Roger's resume is very impressive to say the least.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


17987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

You're right, for some reason I thought I read somewhere that Roger did Mad Max as well after he won the oscar for Blade Runner last year. If he did Shawshank and No Country for Old Men as well as this then I don't see who else could be my favorite cinematographer.

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Actually, his career is incredible. Look it up, talons.

SweeneyTodd
January 6th 2019


1876 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think the Alien franchise could do with Denis' touch, can't wait to see what he does with Dune but if he were to be involved in the apparent upcoming soft reboot to the Alien series I think it would work wonderfully

CaliggyJack
January 6th 2019


2337 Comments


>Blade Runner 2049
>Greatest sequels in recent movie history

Pick one.

Source
January 6th 2019


7511 Comments


Please no more Alien movies. It's beyond embarrassing at this point

Digging: Spiral Architect - A Sceptic's Universe

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think anyone would let Denis get his hands on the Alien franchise. Blomkamp wanted to direct his own run of sequels and his project was shelved so that Scotty can round up his alien prequel trilogy.

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Blomkamp is already preparing a Robocop sequel that would continue after the original and ignore the events of those terrible early 90's sequels.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


17987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I love Prometheus; this really has been an excellent decade for sci-fi.



Alien: Covenant had some problems, but I really liked parts of it, mainly the middle hour.

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really enjoyed Prometheus too even though it was a little bit all over the place, something which i can only attribute to the scenario. The production team started writing it as a direct prequel to Alien, and then it evolved to an original movie. Then, Scotty decided it was a good idea to make it a prequel trilogy. It was like "we will do whatever we like as long as it brings the almight dollar on the table".

rockandmetaljunkie
January 6th 2019


7687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Covenant on the other hand was just a bad movie.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


17987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Prometheus didn't seem that scattershot to me, it was ambitious and very impressive on a technical level and the story stayed pretty on target, even if it didn't answer all the questions it brought up which would be my only complaint.

It was a pretty big risk imo, like not including any of the Giger aliens in there (until after credits) and generally having a pretty slow-moving, suspenseful atmosphere and real body horror.

Alien Covenant was totally all-over-the-place though, with like no suspense and odd pacing. Those last 40 minutes felt tacked on to provide an obligatory climax, and the whole thing just didn't feel that necessary aside from the Fassbender scenes. Hopefully the next one will be better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy