Mac Miller Swimming
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
nolerthebowler
December 28th 2018


2974 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Mac was a wonderful person who’s positive messages almost certainly saved the lives of countless kids. Miss him

Digging: The Menzingers - On the Impossible Past

DirEnRefused
December 28th 2018


3516 Comments


highly suggest watching his tiny desk, the what's the use rendition with thundercat is gorgeous

Digging: Jai Paul - Jai Paul

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2018


41016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

2009 on that Tiny Desk is honestly hard to watch

Digging: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - Bird Box (Abridged)

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2018


2716 Comments


This is a beautiful review. I used to love Faces, though I don't think I've heard anything else (barring some features and a loose single here or there). Something about becoming a fan of someone after their death -- in part, as a result of their death -- bothers me so, so much... But I suppose in this case "respect for the artist" can be divorced from gratification of the person behind the art. Because it's heartening to see the kind of impact he had during his time -- and that unlike with other dead artists, there's no weird allusion to some "potential" as opposed to accomplishments. I think Faces would've been enough to solidify him as something great in my mind, but it's good to see he'd been whittling away at (and mastering) his craft consistenly since then and I'm excited to dive in.

Digging: Pedro the Lion - Phoenix

JeetJeet
December 29th 2018


5897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is still just ok to me. Ladders is one of his best songs ever tho.

Digging: Toro Y Moi - Outer Peace

TheWonderSoFar
December 29th 2018


3280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This grooves like a mf. Still like GOOD AM, Watching Movies, and Faces more tho

Digging: Streetlight Manifesto - The Hands That Thieve

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2018


41016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Blush! I can understand the reticence to dive into a discog if you feel like it's jumping on a post-mortem bandwagon, but like I tried to argue here it stands as a great album regardless of all that and can be enjoyed as such if you choose

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2018


41016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Jeet, sad you don't like this more but Ladders is a 10/10 bop agreed



I can for sure understand Faces as a favourite, and Watching Movies too tho there's a few songs on that I'd have cut out for b-sides. I remember thinking GOOD was Mac trying to be something he wasn't and pretty overlong, but it deserves another listen from me anyway

nolerthebowler
December 30th 2018


2974 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I didn’t like this album at first cuz I thought his tone of voice portrayed him as so destroyed and drugged out, I was worried for him... I like this now for the sentiment, Come Back to Earth is fucking heartbreakingly beautiful.

LightAndGlass
January 3rd 2019


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review and great album. This my brother loves Mac Miller and got my dad put on to him after Mac's death so I've been hearing this album almost non-stop for the past few months when I'm around them.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2019


41016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

one of my coworkers was giving me shit for playing Self Care when I'd just started there, two months later and we're playing the whole album on the TV out front lol

BeyondCosby
January 8th 2019


2349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Man, I can't get into his vocal style. Open your mouth when you sing bud.

Drifter
January 8th 2019


15026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album's great. The first like 5 or so songs are awesome, Kinda falls off after that for me though ):



What's that upbeat like r&b song in the beginning? THAT SONG'S AWESOME

nolerthebowler
January 8th 2019


2974 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Maybe what’s the use? That one has a bassline to die for.



Intro song gets slept on

Drifter
January 8th 2019


15026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah I think its that. great song

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2019


41016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Come Back to Earth is top tier mac ye



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy