Mac Miller Swimming
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
nolerthebowler
December 28th 2018


3765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Mac was a wonderful person who’s positive messages almost certainly saved the lives of countless kids. Miss him

DirEnRefused
December 28th 2018


3538 Comments


highly suggest watching his tiny desk, the what's the use rendition with thundercat is gorgeous

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2018


42175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

2009 on that Tiny Desk is honestly hard to watch

Digging: Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein - Stranger Things 3

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2018


2920 Comments


This is a beautiful review. I used to love Faces, though I don't think I've heard anything else (barring some features and a loose single here or there). Something about becoming a fan of someone after their death -- in part, as a result of their death -- bothers me so, so much... But I suppose in this case "respect for the artist" can be divorced from gratification of the person behind the art. Because it's heartening to see the kind of impact he had during his time -- and that unlike with other dead artists, there's no weird allusion to some "potential" as opposed to accomplishments. I think Faces would've been enough to solidify him as something great in my mind, but it's good to see he'd been whittling away at (and mastering) his craft consistenly since then and I'm excited to dive in.

Digging: Behaving - Behaving

JeetJeet
December 29th 2018


6721 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is still just ok to me. Ladders is one of his best songs ever tho.

SymbolicInTime
December 29th 2018


4595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This grooves like a mf. Still like GOOD AM, Watching Movies, and Faces more tho

Digging: Queen - Queen II

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2018


42175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Blush! I can understand the reticence to dive into a discog if you feel like it's jumping on a post-mortem bandwagon, but like I tried to argue here it stands as a great album regardless of all that and can be enjoyed as such if you choose

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2018


42175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Jeet, sad you don't like this more but Ladders is a 10/10 bop agreed



I can for sure understand Faces as a favourite, and Watching Movies too tho there's a few songs on that I'd have cut out for b-sides. I remember thinking GOOD was Mac trying to be something he wasn't and pretty overlong, but it deserves another listen from me anyway

nolerthebowler
December 30th 2018


3765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I didn’t like this album at first cuz I thought his tone of voice portrayed him as so destroyed and drugged out, I was worried for him... I like this now for the sentiment, Come Back to Earth is fucking heartbreakingly beautiful.

LightAndGlass
January 3rd 2019


80 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review and great album. This my brother loves Mac Miller and got my dad put on to him after Mac's death so I've been hearing this album almost non-stop for the past few months when I'm around them.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2019


42175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

one of my coworkers was giving me shit for playing Self Care when I'd just started there, two months later and we're playing the whole album on the TV out front lol

BeyondCosby
January 8th 2019


2534 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Man, I can't get into his vocal style. Open your mouth when you sing bud.

Drifter
January 8th 2019


15832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album's great. The first like 5 or so songs are awesome, Kinda falls off after that for me though ):



What's that upbeat like r&b song in the beginning? THAT SONG'S AWESOME

nolerthebowler
January 8th 2019


3765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Maybe what’s the use? That one has a bassline to die for.



Intro song gets slept on

Drifter
January 8th 2019


15832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah I think its that. great song

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2019


42175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Come Back to Earth is top tier mac ye

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2019


16373 Comments


Woah "Self Care" is such a banger

RadioheadIsOverrated
February 6th 2019


505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just got into this recently and love it. I tried it a few months ago and it did nothing for me, but fortunately I gave it another chance and now it's my most listened to album this year so far.



What's The Use and 2009 in particular are stellar

nolerthebowler
March 19th 2019


3765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

An admittedly unpopular opinion about Mac: him talking about his future death isn’t prophetic at all, it was a diagnosis. It wasn’t like “I’m gonna be a martyr one day” it was like “I have a disease called addiction and it’s definitely gonna kill me.”



And his death was fascilitated by the lifestyle he built with his music, especially his earlier stuff. His careless approach to life and death should be seen as a somber lesson, not a heroic deed.



Miss that muhfucka

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2019


42175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

couple Mac songs leaked this week and last, this one especially is primo Mac bars



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dj6vRdTPEwU



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy