Crystal Lake Helix
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SteakByrnes
December 11th 2018


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album fucking slaps I love it



I gotta say, this album flows really well and isn't all over the place like you said. This is just Crystal Lake being Crystal Lake

Digging: Ghost Atlas - Sleep Therapy: An Acoustic Performance

BSN1194
December 12th 2018


20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Crystal Lake has never been a band to make an album and subscribe to one type of song or vibe. I think in someways, it's kind of refreshing for a metalcore band but I definitely see what you're saying. The songs that work for Crystal lake work and the ones that don't really don't. But compared to the songs on True North, minus Omega, this album has more consistency.

Storm In A Teacup
December 12th 2018


26328 Comments


I refuse to believe this is so bad. I really enjoy songs from the previous two albums.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2018


8876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I respect an artist wanting to branch into many different styles, but some sort of consistency between tracks is appreciated. Otherwise, things just get to become too jarring for the listener.



Perhaps it's just me, I struggled to get through this. The rap songs are abysmal.

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

BSN1194
December 12th 2018


20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll second that - the rap songs are pretty bad.

SteakByrnes
December 12th 2018


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought it was pretty consistent, and there aren't any full on rap songs

JeetJeet
December 12th 2018


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've only heard Aeon and I wasn't really feeling it, but the review for this album makes me curious. Are their other albums any good?

Digging: ScHoolboy Q - Blank Face LP

SteakByrnes
December 12th 2018


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Peep the songs Apollo, Omega, and Prometheus my boi

JeetJeet
December 12th 2018


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Omega is sick. Apollo was nice. Not too big on the other song but I like their energy. I'll keep an eye out for these guys.

Winsomniac
December 12th 2018


8560 Comments


They're definitely extremely skilled to be sure, but I do get the impression they're just throwing everything they can do at the listener to see what sticks.

I like them best when they remind me of a J-hardcore and slightly heavier version of The Ghost Inside, but I think that mostly has to do with their aggression and how similar the vocal delivery can be when he's in that range.

SteakByrnes
December 12th 2018


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice Jeet, the album The Sign has more hardcore style music, whereas True North and this are more diverse in the styles they play, but I think they blend it superbly



@Win Yea his mids are very reminiscent of The Ghost Inside

Uzumaki
December 12th 2018


587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

True North is probably my favorite song by them. The Sign, I think, is heavier than True North and this tho.

Digging: Killer Be Killed - Killer Be Killed

SteakByrnes
December 12th 2018


14469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True North is a great song for sure, one of my favorites, and yea The Sign is easily the heaviest of theirs

Uzumaki
December 12th 2018


587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I like how heavy it is, and yet the lyrics are very positive, jives with my mindset where I wanna help build up and support other people before myself.

joshieboy
December 13th 2018


6473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought about reviewing this but thought l wouldn't be able to do it before the U.S release. Going through my 2nd listen right now l am enjoying the hell out of this.

Digging: Polaris (AUS) - The Mortal Coil

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2018


8876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Anyone is welcome to disagree, seems like this isn't the popular opinion. Couldn't get into it at all.

Uzumaki
December 13th 2018


587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

And you’re ok for that dissenting opinion. We need a little bit of both sides, and we’re getting a good discussion out of it. S’all good, my man.

MalConstant
December 13th 2018


118 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This band is like a poor version of Maximum The Hormone. Crystal Lake fails at trying to mix genres and any attempt to listen to this album in one listen is a struggle. There are a few okay tracks that stand out on their own, but as a cohesive effort, it fails to impress.

Durrzo
December 13th 2018


1661 Comments


I agree with a lot of this review, though I enjoyed the album more than you did. I deleted the worst offenders and found an enjoyable album with a few ill executed moments. I feel like the rapping isn't a total disaster in Devilcry, though in general I agree that rap does not fit in with this kind of music.

I'll probably give this a 3 or 3.5. I feel like the good outweighs the bad by a considerable amount.


ShadowNeko
December 15th 2018


187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Disagreed x10



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy