AFI The Missing Man
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mendross
December 9th 2018


650 Comments


Listen to storm. He 5'd satellite years, as everyone fucking should

onionbubs
December 9th 2018


10762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“Blood has so many great hooks wtf kind of sacrilegious and scandalous commentary is this ”



besides hidden knives feed from the floor and the bridge of she speaks the language every song has like the exact same vocal melody consisting of like three notes (which is also a problem with get dark but that’s the worst here anyway) or they’re recycled from older better afi albums



are we like listening to the same album? bc i wish blood was a hook machine i’m fuckin trying so hard to get into it but it just ain’t happening

Digging: Alexisonfire - Crisis

artiswar
December 9th 2018


6400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Blood is one of the catchiest albums I've ever heard, easily.

Storm In A Teacup
December 9th 2018


26126 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"Listen to storm. He 5'd satellite years, as everyone fucking should"



You have TSY rated a 4.5!!! >=0

Storm In A Teacup
December 9th 2018


26126 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Onion, my friend, I think you are just so young your brain is not registering such matured music.

Mendross
December 9th 2018


650 Comments


Fuck why did you fact check me ??? Storm.

Storm In A Teacup
December 9th 2018


26126 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cuz I check for the facts, cup

StonedManatee
December 9th 2018


111 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

5? This album is a huge monotonous and repetitive disappointment. I am tired of bands trying to take the worst aspects of 80s music and trying to incorporate it into their music. I feel like the lack of clever lyricism is the major issue with The Missing Man. Everything sounds cliched and Davey sounds almost cringeworthy at times. Sorry, but this is a 2.

botb
December 9th 2018


12419 Comments


I didn’t expect to like this as much as I did but yet those vocals have some very weird tuning moments

steigi
December 9th 2018


5 Comments


This guy gave the last two AFI Albums also a 5. Seems legit...

madrigal30
December 9th 2018


37 Comments


EP is great, review is great. Jamming this shit today :P

Digging: PUP - Morbid Stuff

robotmagician
December 9th 2018


1013 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first song is good, and i really enjoyed the last track. wish there wasn't such terrible production all over the vocals. really ruins the middle tracks, not that those were particularly interesting to begin with. probably closer to the 2-2.5 range because of that but i like those two tracks enough

Advent
December 9th 2018


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Onionbubs’ brain can register matured music, no question there. Dude has good taste



And yeah there are a few different things on this EP like the slower tracks 2 and 3 and the t/t, but like I said overall they still sound like AFI and it’s fucking awesome



They probably liked doing The Wind That Carries Me Away on Blood Album and wanted to try out that style even more.

onionbubs
December 9th 2018


10762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the production of this is pretty bad, but so is the production on blood and burials so w/e. some questionable choices on davey tho

Advent
December 9th 2018


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can appreciate Jade doing the production himself on Blood but yeah something does feel off about it.



Production on Crash Love for example sounds great. That album is one the highlights their career and is massively underrated. Took a long time to grow on me but once it did...damn.

onionbubs
December 9th 2018


10762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it sounds ok but thats sorta wher e some of their production issues started (darling i want to destroy you i believe is the song that sounds super super muddy



the death of jerry finn really did a great deal of harm to the production jobs on pretty much every band he worked with

nightbringer
December 9th 2018


173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Crash Love is definitely Davey's best vocal performance.

nightbringer
December 9th 2018


173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As in, he sounds great on CL, not overproduced.

LightChaotic
December 9th 2018


167 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I really wish people weren't so obsessed with scores. If I could write a review without attaching a number to it, I would. The meaning of and difference between scores is radically different for literally every single person on this site. It has no use beyond ignoring the content of a review and getting a VERY general idea of how someone felt about an album.



I'm not going to lie and attach a random number to my review just to make it seem more objective or realistic. I know that there are plenty of people that would actually read this review if the score were a 4 or a 4.5 instead of a 5. But those numbers don't reflect my opinion on the album.

Storm In A Teacup
December 9th 2018


26126 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

You can be satisfied knowing that some of us wholeheartedly agree with you, Chaotic. On a review site however that is going to be a hard sell to some.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy