The 1975 A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoofDoof
November 30th 2018


4346 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Having three absolute lowest of the low 0 out of 10 stinkers closing out the album was a strange choice - that's the craziest thing I found about the tracklist, had to check they weren't the accursed bonus tracks, but no they're supposed to be there

AgentDeathbat
November 30th 2018


9980 Comments


Might dig some of this. their last album was too long for me to want to bother but this should be an easy 3.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2018


16384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think a 3.8 is on point for this on first listen

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2018


16384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Man Who Married a Robot is trash though lmao

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2018


7661 Comments


Might have to side with Doof on this one. Review is excellent per usual, Mr. Season.

Underflow
November 30th 2018


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"A batch of quality pop songs – nothing more, nothing less..."

"bnm"

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2018


134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a lot of spectacular failure on this, but “TOOTIMETOOTIMETOOTIME” and “Love It if We Made It” are the ridiculous pop rock songs i needed

Digging: Blood Orange - Angel's Pulse

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2018


134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can’t ignore the backslide of writing a Scritti Politti rip-off (“UGH!”) to now writing a Def Leppard rip-off (“It’s Not Living (If it’s Not With You)”), though

luci
November 30th 2018


11301 Comments


Tootime really sucks. Even if you interpret it as like a PC music take on tropical house or Despacito it's just hot garbage.

Ryus
November 30th 2018


17755 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

yeah tootime feels like such an awful attempt at riding that tropical house wave in the safest way possible

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2018


134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hated it a lot at first but I’m quite fond of it now. Just a nice song

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2018


9279 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Okay, is it just me or is the guitar riff in "Give Yourself a Try" really goddamn grating?

Digging: Joliette - Luz Devora

Underflow
November 30th 2018


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Correct me if I’m wrong, but no one knows how BNM works—staff do not have the ability to make it so. The best guess (that I remember) is that an album has to have three staff ratings of 3.5 or higher as well as an official staff review. But again, most of us have no idea how it works."



Did not know this, thanks.

bloc
November 30th 2018


56374 Comments


"Okay, is it just me or is the guitar riff in "Give Yourself a Try" really goddamn grating?"

Check the news thread about that song and you will see that you are not alone.

I, on the other hand, did not mind it.

Digging: UNKLE - Psyence Fiction

Underflow
November 30th 2018


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lmao @ the man who married a robot, miserable.

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


31459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

You're right Xeno. It's an average not a staff choice.

And thanks plane! :-)

Digging: Bad Books - III

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2018


9279 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's just so repetitive and sharp. Something feels off about the production as well. Judging from how the next tracks have been going I'm getting the feeling this won't be very positive.

bloc
November 30th 2018


56374 Comments


I believe the children call it "garage-y" or "lo-fi"?

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2018


9279 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I need to get in on this new-age lingo

Lucman
November 30th 2018


2885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm shocked that I'm enjoying this as much as I do. Their last record was so painfully boring but I've been jamming a lot of cuts from this one. Could even bump the rating with more listens.

Digging: Nick Drake - Pink Moon



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy