The 1975 A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
November 30th 2018


13942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Okay was disappointed with the first three tracks but so far after that there's some great shit. "Be My Mistake" and "Petrichor" are so good

Gyromania
November 30th 2018


26490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bnm

nolerthebowler
November 30th 2018


2974 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Listening now and I’m pretty on board with this review for the most part. I think some parts are made intentionally jarring tho, which doesn’t go super in line with a traditional pop release. There’s nice little layers behind everything tho and I can dig that. Pretty good I’d say, they clearly give a fuck about their content.

Digging: The Menzingers - On the Impossible Past

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

I hope people don't take this review as an endorsement of it being BNM. It's a 3.8 which is great but not that great. I blame robin's 4.5.

Digging: James Blake - Assume Form

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

That's because it isn't bad. It's an album of consistently good pop songs. Nothing more, nothing less.

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

EDIT: NVM I hate “It’s Not Living”

ok now we're fighting

Flashmobba
November 30th 2018


1136 Comments


is this worth an 89 from metacritic

nolerthebowler
November 30th 2018


2974 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The structures of the songs are pretty typical, but I’d still call it experimental in the similar, but not as obvious, way as bon ivers newest.

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

The fact that this ever had a 99 on metacritic is hilarious

I mean a 3.8 = 76/100, so I'm not saying this is bad or even mediocre, but it does not deserve what that site equates to "universal acclaim"

nolerthebowler
November 30th 2018


2974 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The hypebeast distorts shit.



What’s bnm

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

BNM = Best New Music

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

I think I’ll give a knee jerk 3.3

only 0.5 off from my rating, either you're getting softer or I'm getting harder

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 30th 2018


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

could be...listening to and reviewing Imagine Dragons and Muse back to back must have made me a changed man

Prancer
November 30th 2018


921 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

album is all over the place stylistically, but 'love it if we made it' is good

nolerthebowler
November 30th 2018


2974 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Matty appeals to softies but I guess there’s nothing wrong with that

granitenotebook
November 30th 2018


829 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review

"Genuinely curious...what caused people to have such a negative opinion about the fanbase?"

there's a lot of hyperfanaticism, + the kind of entry-level elitism that *really* pisses off people who are really into music (i.e. "i like real alternative music like the 1975 not boring mainstream pop). also sexism definitely plays a role, people hate music teenage girls love

luci
November 30th 2018


10559 Comments


I'll say that I'm glad Sowing went for a centrist take instead of breathlessly praising it as 2020, A Million.

DoofDoof
November 30th 2018


1708 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'm going to say it...I enjoyed listening to this even less than the new Muse.

Digging: Bobbie Gentry - The Delta Sweete

granitenotebook
November 30th 2018


829 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also re:lucid, i think the claims that the structure represent the calamity of the social media age or whatever aren't *that* off-base, people get whatever they want out of art, and that has been a heavy theme in interviews. in any case, i don't even really get why people think this tracklist is that crazy

Ryus
November 30th 2018


16882 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

give yourself a try sounds like the worst disorder cover of all time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy