Architects Holy Hell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Uzumaki
February 12th 2020


2006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Came in on LF/LT and I like AOGHAU, but yeah, this sounds like AOGHAU 2.0

Digging: God Program - Fragments of Illusion

SteakByrnes
February 12th 2020


17172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Here and Now is better than this agreed

Digging: Polaris (AUS) - The Death of Me

Willie
Moderator
February 12th 2020


18440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This and AOGHAU are the only two I listen to. Sometimes the one before AOGHAU.

Digging: My Dying Bride - The Ghost of Orion

TundraL5Z
February 12th 2020


3695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album is so damn average loool

Digging: Grimes - Miss Anthropocene

SteakByrnes
February 12th 2020


17172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I only remember Doomsday and Royal Beggars off this

Feather
February 12th 2020


5758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was burnt out on the sound when AOGHAU came out, got back into the album after Tom died, and then this came out and I'm just tired of this sound. I love Daybreaker and LF/LT slaps hard too, but I need something different [2]



LFLT at times sounds like them copying BMTH from that era, especially on songs like The Devil Is Near [2]



^^^ This, BUT thats why I liked it so much!

kalkwiese
February 12th 2020


4521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The Devil is Near is one of my favorites \m/ that higher guitar part in the background at the song's climax is so damn sweet. And the stings at the end rule

Digging: Gleb Kolyadin - Gleb Kolyadin

DreamAgain
February 14th 2020


1195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Their last two albums are quite same-y so I can understand that criticism and yes Lost Forever also sounds similar in the sense that it's also Architects but the soundscape of that album has an entirely different tone and feel.

This feels like a direct continuation from All Our Gods, an almost Before and After vibe going on and it makes sense given the lyrical content between the two as well as what they've been through. If the next album is truly All Our Gods Pt.3 then the unnecessary hate for this being some sort of "rehash" might start to become justifiable.



What I'll never understand is any complaints over Sam's vocals here (or in general??). He's an absolute titan in this genre and he sounds better than ever here. Royal Beggars is as good of a vocal performance as you will ever get from any other metalcore band that has ever existed as far as I'm concerned.

Between Sam and the lyrics (probably more so on All Our Gods but w.e) which I personally find quite touching and relatable is enough for these albums to stand up on repeat listens for dozens of times now.

SteakByrnes
February 14th 2020


17172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea Sam has always been great, I just wish he'd add the lows back that he used to do back on Ruin (he does them live anyway, why not do them in studio?)

veninblazer
February 14th 2020


10271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sam just doing mids and nothing else is pretty unfortunate tbh

SaveBandit
February 14th 2020


811 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sam is an absolute monster. One of the best live vocal performances I've ever seen honestly. And yeah Steak he needs to bring those lows back, when he does them live they're fucking massive.

Digging: Polaris (AUS) - The Death of Me

SteakByrnes
February 14th 2020


17172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hell yea brother

Beardog
February 15th 2020


3256 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

He's a good vocalist but I hate how he only does the scream singing and mid-range screams. If you've heard one song of this record or AOGHAU you've heard all modern Architects songs tbh.

Willie
Moderator
February 15th 2020


18440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

--If you've heard one song of this record or AOGHAU you've heard all modern Architects songs tbh.--

I don't think it's that bad. AOGHAU did have a lot of songs that sounded kind of similar, but "Gone with the Wind", "The Empty Hourglass", and "Memento Mori" are all pretty different. The rest are pretty similar, though. This album, though, has a pretty diverse collection of songs.

kalkwiese
February 15th 2020


4521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Nihilist is another standout track.

@Willie: I'm surprised you gave this a 4.0 tbh. Don't you think it's quite repetitive?

Willie
Moderator
February 15th 2020


18440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think it's repetitive at all. I'd say this is more diverse than the last few that came before it. Also, it's definitely catchier.

Beardog
February 15th 2020


3256 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think the lead singles were okay, Doomsday is a killer song but the rest is just so... bland. I hate how monotonous the vocals are and the overall production of them (the kind of distortion that was used makes them sound lifeless as fuck). This feels like they didn't really know what to make so they just stuck with what they did on the last record, but a bit worse overall. Would've been cool if Josh Middleton got some input and did some vocals, that would spice things up A TON

Pikazilla
February 15th 2020


7826 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Would've been cool if Josh Middleton got some input and did some vocals, that would spice things up A TON



Agreed. The guitarwork here is extremely boring. They'd better let him contribute next time.

Feather
February 15th 2020


5758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This just didn’t have the emotional gut punch that AOGHAO had

Uzumaki
February 15th 2020


2006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only because this is post-Tom, so it’s really the band processing the loss and moving on as best they can, unlike AOGHAU, where it was still Tom really coming to grips with his situation and saying goodbye.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy