Cult Leader
A Patient Man


3.6
great

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
October 29th, 2018 | 300 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cult Leader eschew conventions with “A Patient Man,” yielding an album of two halves and one spirit.

A Patient Man is the last opportunity to talk about Gaza--that’s it, it’s done. The shadow of Cult Leader’s former band/moniker looms over them no longer. What they have managed to do in their two-album run is create an identity that is wholly their own by producing some of the most hard-hitting and infectious heavy music out there. Gaza are officially dead. Long live Gaza.

Cult Leader’s sophomore record A Patient Man is one hell of a heavy slice of music. The metalcore/sludge/death concoction is just as effective as ever, with a near-constant barrage of the grimiest and murkiest work put to tape this year. But with “To: Achlys,” “A World of Joy,” and the title track, Cult Leader have taken risks by working with a near strictly melodic palette a la “Cruel Bloom” from Converge’s Axe to Fall. Each is haunting in its simplicity and shows a band willing to step outside its “plug-and-chug” formula. The thick and smoky atmosphere the band employes works well alongside the aural assaults of songs like “Craft of Mourning” and “Share My Pain,” especially when the two styles meet in the very effective “A World of Joy.” Typically when heavy bands turn out tunes likes those that make up half of A Patient Man, the word “maturation” gets thrown around, as if heavy music cannot be inherently mature. Cult Leader throw those sentiments out the window. Some of the album’s most revelatory moments are those found in the most oppressive sonic torrents. Cult Leader expertly give their songs depth while still making them feel unrelenting.

A Patient Man iis a heavy album recorded in God City Studios. Unfortunately that speaks volumes because its production is nigh indistinguishable from dozens upon dozens of other records. It’s clean and polished in ways few others could manage, but any sort of soul has been spread very thin. Most would never care but it’s worth noting for those who suffer from Kurt Ballou fatigue. Yet small personal issues do not detract from what is otherwise a refreshingly refined record of two halves--one earthy and melodic, the other dark and oppressive. While the jarring distinctions do not always work, when everything comes together perfectly there’s nothing else like it this year.



Recent reviews by this author
Inter Arma Sulphur EnglishWaste of Space Orchestra Syntheosis
Vous Autres Champ du SangVanum Ageless Fire
Krallice WolfChapel of Disease ...And As We Have Seen The Storm
user ratings (171)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
ReAnimator (4)
What are you waiting for?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
October 29th 2018


57843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Gah, after that single I was expecting something better than your review suggests.



Still, great write-up.

hogan900
October 29th 2018


2929 Comments


damn only a 3.6 :/
and yeah great review, will still check out since their last outing was sick.

dbizzles
October 29th 2018


13075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They have a hit and an absolute whiff-and-fall-on-the-ground-still-swinging with the singles, imo. Looking forward to the 'plug and chug' but, not excited for the rest.

Digging: Gorement - The Ending Quest

Relinquished
October 29th 2018


39599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm down for the two sides, I dug em on the last one enough. "I Am Healed" still remains one of my top tracks this year.

BigPleb
October 29th 2018


57843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Never even jammed these guys and that song floored me.

Evreaia
October 29th 2018


5082 Comments


Did not know this band was releasing something new, quickly looked up both singles.

God damn, I nearly missed out on a beauty.

clavier
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

this album was my biggest disappointment of the year, three of the slow tracks were an absolute slog for me

Kompys2000
October 29th 2018


2522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wtf is this out now I thought it wasn't out for another 2 weeks

Digging: Whiskeytown - Stranger's Almanac

DarkHorizontal
October 29th 2018


125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That slow single grew on me so should be cool to hear the rest. HEAL ME

SomeGuyDude
October 29th 2018


374 Comments


Er... where are we hearing the whole thing? It's not streaming on any websites I found.

clavier
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

promo access

supremejelly
October 29th 2018


1061 Comments


Lord I hope "To: Achlys" is the worst of the slow-burners. That song wasn't interesting at all

Digging: Extol - Extol

clavier
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

@supremejelly: good news is that it is the worst of the slow-burners, bad news is that there are other slow-burners

dbizzles
October 29th 2018


13075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just want forest fires.

XingKing
October 29th 2018


14537 Comments


3.6? Damn, I was expecting this to be top ten of the year status. Cautiously optimistic now

supremejelly
October 29th 2018


1061 Comments


Ugh.."A Patient Man" I will need to be to get through those I imagine (thanks I'll be here all week)

THVRTVVN
October 29th 2018


459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

send me the promo link if you real

Relinquished
October 29th 2018


39599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you haven't earned reality so no

THVRTVVN
October 29th 2018


459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

my name is soymilk13 i am reality motherfucker

Relinquished
October 29th 2018


39599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

literally who?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy