Toby Driver They Are the Shield
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
September 4th 2021


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I didn’t know anyone thought Madonnawhore was better than this. NGW4M is alright but cmon. And I love Phobos but this is slightly better.

Sharenge
September 4th 2021


5457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this did grow, but I still think I prefer Madonnawhore slightly more than this... if I remember correctly, they have quite different and distinct vibes though

JJKeys
September 4th 2021


1323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TAtS definitely has more striking instrumentation, I cannot deny that - but I feel the lyricism and vocal delivery isn't as mellow and intimate as Madonnawhore. I'm absolutely in love with The Scarlet Whore/Her Dealings with the Initiate



Also to heck with you, N.G.H.4.M. is glorious

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
September 4th 2021


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Madonnawhore is cool but this is much more sonically interesting and emotional. NGH4M isn’t even an album, it’s just a good long song, and a bit repetitive.

porcupinetheater
September 5th 2021


11051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Madonnawhore is good for late night walking, and perfect for laying on the couch with the lights off, blissing



This is good for laying on the couch with the lights off, blissing, and perfect for late night walking

Veldin
September 5th 2021


5322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They Are the Shield > Madonnawhore > NGH4M

You're welcome

Veldin
September 5th 2021


5322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually really love NGH4M, but it's hard to compare to Madonnawhore when it's so much shorter. They both have distinct vibes and are all 4/5 or higher for me, with this (TAtS) being my favorite. New LP by Alora Crucible is also excellent, but not sure yet if I like it more than this. Need more time. So stoked for new Kayo Dot next month (another new single next week)

ShadowOfTheCitadel
September 2nd 2022


455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Knot is such a fucking stunner, it's ridiculous.

Sharenge
August 7th 2023


5457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hmm not sure I at any point during the runtime have the slightest clue what he's on about here but still p good I guess maybe I'll do a read along some time

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2023


61273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

those strings tell the whole story

Sharenge
August 7th 2023


5457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

apparently 470 nm is the wavelength of the color blue... so there's that



should've memorized my wavelengths in school

Epilogue
December 8th 2023


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed on The Knot, what a spellbinding end to a gorgeous record.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy