Symphony X V: The New Mythology Suite
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Yazz_Flute
June 21st 2007


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ive come to the conclusion that this is abit of a beter album than "the odyssey" Odyssey overall has better songs (no segues either) but the overall concet and atmosphere of this album is beautifully intense. Plus a bunch of the tracks are killer. Ive been addicted to making song lists lately...so heres a nother



Rediscovery pt 2-The New Mythology

Egypt

A Fools Paradise (fucking love the intro)

Evolution (the grand desig)

Fallen

Absence of Light

Communion and the ORacle

The Bird-Serpent War/Cataclysm

The Death of Balance/Lacrymosa

On the Breath of Poseidon

Rediscovery (segue)

Prelude

Transcendence (segue)This Message Edited On 06.21.07

Yazz_Flute
June 22nd 2007


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know paradise Lost is oming out soon, but other thasn that, which album should i get next by symphony x? the only other one i have is "the odyssey"

MeowMeow
June 22nd 2007


662 Comments


Get Twilight In Olympus, it's got my favorite Symphony X song, Smoke And Mirrors.

FR33L0RD
July 6th 2007


1474 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent Review ...got my voteThis Message Edited On 07.06.07

FR33L0RD
July 6th 2007


1474 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer Odyssey

(i will listen to Paradise Lost soon)

Altmer
October 17th 2007


5701 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules, but it's not as good as PL or Divine Wings (though I really like Evolution, Communion, and a couple others.)

yas666eer
April 6th 2008


281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for me, this album is the best work of Symphony X. way better than paradise lost.....

Zherkezhi57
April 15th 2008


71 Comments


i actually downloaded the first few tracks of this cause of the quality of this review and i just laughed my *** off. nice review, but i fail to see how anybody could actually take this stuff seriously.


If this is your opinion on a quality band like Symphony X, i only wonder what your opinion is on an awful band like DragonForce.

Flawless review. You have a good style.

Oh and on a side note, i am a new fan and i bought DWT and loved it. Where should i go from here? This, The Odyssey? or?

thanks.




Rugter32
September 23rd 2008


754 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well, this album is insanely awesome. I dunno if I like this better than TDWOT or not. Both are godly. I guess this, mostly because of Evolution, Egypt, Absence of Light, A Fool's Paradise and Rediscovery Pt. 2. Still, Symphony X rules.

A7XEric
January 25th 2009


322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can already hear SX fanboys crying out "BLASPHEMY" but I have to say this as well as The Odyssey are absolute drags to listen through save for a few songs. TDWOT, TIO, and PL are amazing though.

Yazz_Flute
January 25th 2009


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

BLASPHEMY



well i wouldn't call myself a fanboy but this is their best album, and Odyssey is their second best. TDWOT would be third, then PL, then Damnation Game, then TiO.

Rugter32
January 25th 2009


754 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I shall review this...

IMO, this album is their absolute peak, then TDWOT, then PL, then TiO, then The Odyssey, then The Damnation Game and finally the s/t.

No song they have made or they make will ever surpass the Absence of Light/A Fool's Paradise combo. I love how the songs flow perfectly in this album.

BludgeonySteve
August 5th 2009


558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You know, we've all made riffs using the minor harmonic scale and said "hehehe that's sounds really Egyptian", but none of us were douchebags enough to make them into a song and call it "Egypt". Just saying.

Yazz_Flute
August 6th 2009


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha

Shadows Within
February 8th 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I bought Odyssey a few years ago and had it in my car for months, i loved it. But I finally sat down and listened to this album and I like it way better Odyssey had a few I would skip over more often than not but all the songs on this album are awesome. I'm going to go against the grain and say my favorite song is Absence of light and Fallen followed closely by Evolution. for some reason Absence always draws me in, Russell is amazing on that song and got to be a little more bluesy/rockin on that song than others.

eztmusic
June 30th 2011


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

excellent progressive album in my opinion. the best power-progressive metal band yet (next come angra) and this is their best album for me

KjSwantko
December 2nd 2011


10774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was torn between a 4.5 or a 5 for this, so I just said fuck it and went with the 5.

Yazz_Flute
December 2nd 2011


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Woah I have this rated as a 3.5 now. I think I had it 5'd years ago.

Shuyin
December 19th 2011


13286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awsome album, im definitely going to check more stuff from these guys now. the instrumentals are just about perfect imo

Digging: Dan Terminus - Automated Refrains

AsoTamaki
December 19th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is perfection. It almost brings me to tears when I listen to this album and then think about the music they've made recently.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy