Snail Mail Lush
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
June 10th 2018


431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great review btw.



I think I prefer this style of music with something extra; Fazerdaze comes to mind. Love her debut to death, then again adding reverb makes most things sound good to me haha.

DropTune
June 10th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I totally get your point about Soccer Mommy. I'm not huge into indie rock as much as I used to. Indie is so overrated right now it's ridiculous. I don't blame them for looking to other artists to "save indie rock," but they're building these musicians way too much at an early stage. They need to let them find their groove before they start moving up.

loveisamixtape
June 10th 2018


7754 Comments


speaking terms is catchy af

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


7840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really love the riff for Speaking Terms yeah that's a good one

Digging: Marika Hackman - Any Human Friend

DropTune
June 10th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Speaking Terms was pretty good. It's in my top 3.

Ashtiel
June 11th 2018


580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

after a listen or two trying to wrap my head around this i think it's a solid, well-rounded debut. the second half from "let's find an out" onwards is good stuff.



maybe it'll sneak up on me at a later date but there's too much other stuff that i want to dive deeper into lol, almost makes me wish it came out earlier in the year or something.



Digging: Oh Sees - Face Stabber

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


24910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I needed this album like exactly a month ago. still solid but just wish there was an extra OOMPF idk

DropTune
June 11th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with Conmaniac. There isn't much of an oompf to the album. It needs a confidence boost to make them shine. It feels held back in some regards.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


24910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah like altho I love her resigned moments like in Deep Sea, I think a couple more outbreaks to contrast those would've done this album some favors

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


7840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I definitely wish there were more songs like Pristine but this album just speaks to me for some reason, I'm obsessed with it

DropTune
June 11th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They weren't really treading boundaries. They played it safe for a debut album. I don't think it's a bad move, but I wish it were more daring.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


24910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

safe is good tho! still v solid

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


7840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think they played it safe tho, that's a point in my review lol

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


24910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah you mention that it's actually risky for her to have gotten rid of any variety on this album which is an interesting point! but as such it becomes a lot more samey and as a result sounds safer even if it was a risk, in a way

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


7840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ya know I totally see what you're saying, I think it goes back to it being really weird that a debut is "for the fans" it does SOUND safe but I like how stubbornly she's pursing her sound. She's burrowing inward instead of the other way around and I find that very fascinating and promising

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2018


24910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

focusing on HER sound first probably, defining an original sound is incredibly important for a young artist

DropTune
June 11th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with both of you. Focusing on her core sound is very important to establish in a debut. It's a matter of personal preference honestly. I hope to see a more developed sound in upcoming releases. Otherwise, I think her melodramatic and sarcastic outlook is very unique.

Cormano
June 12th 2018


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

she'll do punk next you guys so this is perfect as it is

might drop my review this weekend cause work is bitting my scrotum

DropTune
June 12th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That will be a fun read.

siren
June 14th 2018


187 Comments


this is really good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy