Snail Mail Lush
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DropTune
June 9th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No problem man! Keep reviewing.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm trying to haha

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2018


24898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

:]

Digging: Together to the Stars - An Oblivion Above

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Atari my friend, thought you'd like this more dang

Why do you find it lacking?

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2018


24898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

it's actually pretty nice rainy weather music. liking it more today than I was yesterday. "Speaking Terms" is one of my favorites. the guitar melody throughout is quite simple, yet so effective. it has a stronger atmosphere than some of the other tracks imo. I also haven't even really had much time to digest the lyrics yet



will most likely be bumping this up. as generous as I am with my ratings, I tend to try to rate lower first, then bump if/when it grows. 3.2 is just kinda my initial reaction, but it means it's on the verge of being great!

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The riff for Speaking Terms is a beaut, I'm glad you mentioned the atmosphere because that's what a lot of people seem to be missing or dismissing entirely

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2018


3018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Unconvinced that her guitar-playing is anything special, it seems quite standard to me. Not that that's a bad thing!! This is quite easily one of my favourite albums this year. Big agree on the pull of her voice, it is spectacular. What are your favourite songs?

Oh, and nice review, of course -- they always are.

Digging: Lil Tracy - Anarchy

DropTune
June 10th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The music is simple yet effective. That's the albums strongsuit in my opinion. It doesn't try too hard, but it does enough to get by. That's where the sarcastic element makes its way into the mix. It has that slacker suave about it that makes the music have character. The production job held the album back a bit in terms of sound. I felt the gazey elements could have used some work. It doesn't have the umph one would expect. I think the album is fine otherwise. There isn't anything terrible about it. I wouldn't call it underwhelming because nothing about the marketing was overwhelming. It's just an above average indie rock debut.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love her guitar playing, it's not overly flashy or anything but to me it has a very full-bodied and complete feeling to it

I'm glad you agree about her voice! My favorites are the 3 singles (the outro of Pristine is imo the best moment of the album and my favorite, with my favorite line on the album "We could be anything, even apart". It reads on paper as a very wise sentiment but she sings it with such a piercing sigh that it breathes so much palpable sadness into it), Stick, and Full Control, but honestly the reason I gave this a 4.5 is because there's not a song I don't like

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could see how the production could come off as a bit sterile but it doesn't seem a focal point so I don't think it really negatively affects the album



BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2018


3018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree about Pristine. Deep Sea and the last few tracks are worth mentioning too.

IAMERROR
June 10th 2018


329 Comments


Fuuuuck yes, I was jamming her EP in the early spring time. Finna give this a spin right now. So much good music coming out this year, man. I can barely give albums the attention they deserve.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely agree with that, it's getting hard to catch up, a good complaint to have tho

DropTune
June 10th 2018


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album especially doesn't need to be flashy. It's nice to have an indie album that isn't overproduced. So many indie bands drown themselves in layers, sampling, and all the hoopla big budget studios give them. This has a simple nostalgic tone to it. It feels genuine and real compared to anything else going on. I value ratings differently than most people. 3.5 falls in a B-range in my book. This album kinda undersells itself, which is why it's not a 4 for me. It doesn't have the confidence a debut record needs to push itself. It tries not to do anything wowing, but in doing so, it sets itself further into obscurity. I know that might sound weird, but that was my headspace when rating the album. 4.5 is a bit pushy. I don't think it's on-par with A Black Mile to the Surface.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel Ya totally, but I think the unassuming modesty is part of its greatness and charm. I'd be willing to concede that objectively I think this is a 4, with 4.5 being my subjective rating

JS19
June 10th 2018


7345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

She even looks like Phoebe Bridgers but this is decent

JS19
June 10th 2018


7345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually this has something special ngl

JesperL
June 10th 2018


447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm kinda done with this whole corner of the indie rock genre. The music (this album) is quite nice, but I'm getting sick of everyone praising soccer mommy, snail mail, etc. to death as if they are 'the future of indie rock' (pitchfork's words lmao). Makes me wonder if the reception would be the same if this music were made by slightly older artists. Idk, could just be me but it kind of annoys me.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2018


8013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I get what you're saying for sure, I just love the good music

JS19
June 10th 2018


7345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Usually this exact type of inside music bores me to hell but this is a bit special



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy