Kanye West ye
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


44204 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

yeah I gotta [2] that the Lift Yourself sample and DAYTONA's production are both way more interesting than the production on here. some of this is just way below Kanye's skill level (thinking No Mistakes, Wouldn't Leave especially)



edit: that page break tho

Digging: Black Thought - Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"is the red pill like a vaccine? seems it gave him autism"



liked and subscribed

Digging: Oklou - Galore

Toad
June 3rd 2018


2039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@row definitely. what saves this album for me is the sincerity behind his pro-family tracks and the brevity of the record. whereas i think you can argue tlop is a snapshot of a fractured 21st century celebrity identity, the attitude you identified (hyper-rich individual only exposed to other hyper-rich peers) makes this a sloppy record of narcissistic delusion...its like the equivalent of a self-reported tabloid mag...

anyways thats enough bitching for me, time to move on to looking at something i actually like. i just really thought he might turn around with this one

Doctuses
June 3rd 2018


1915 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Great review. Awful “music” from an even worse “man”.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0





Great review. Awful “music” from an even worse “man”.





i like this also

heck
June 3rd 2018


4903 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

hi pots how you been

Toad
June 3rd 2018


2039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

apparently hes been spinnin this mastapeece

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


44204 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

what saves this album for me is the sincerity behind his pro-family tracks and the brevity of the record.




I wish I agreed this but the incredibly bad and not good sentiment that Violent Crimes turns to halfway completely sinks it for me. like if that's Kanye's idea of loving his family that's a whole lot worse than I had ever imagined it would be



Awful “music” from an even worse “man”.




absolutely destroyed damn



sup @pots

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


20469 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Excited to see what I think of this

Toad
June 3rd 2018


2039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i mean i think we can all agreed the dude's perspective is completely fucked. i think the family shit is the only stuff that like, asserts a shred of recognizable humanity on this record. the rest is pretty incomprehensible from an empathy standpoint. the 2.5 i have right now feels really generous

Storm In A Teacup
June 3rd 2018


30765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't care about this i just want the new Nas album. And I'm confused about the previous Nas album? wasn't it done? or was it this?

Digging: Envy - The Fallen Crimson

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i missed you guys

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

although im not gonna lie im fucking pissed yall hating on kanye as soon as i start liking him amirite lel

heck
June 3rd 2018


4903 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I haven't liked any of his output post-MBDTF tbf

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the album art itself is a 5/5 on account of looking like a Mount Eerie album cover alone and yall think you can contest that this album is easy to empathize with? Tell that to phil elverums hand.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dont even need to hear this shit to know u guys are tom foolin', i saw the memes.

Casavir
June 3rd 2018


4241 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is trash.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

YE is the second coming of steve aoki, recognize. i came back for this.

Storm In A Teacup
June 3rd 2018


30765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh boy

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


11788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"thanks man, which part seems far-fetched to you though? cos he has thrown his support behind some terrifically bad alt-right personalities, that's an unfortunate fact"



Eh, there's some areas where I think it's just a divergence of interpretation, which is fine of course and I don't really wanna be the defend Kanye brigade, it was mostly this; "What seemed like a sincere desire for openness became alt-right tunnel vision" that hit me as a huge stretch. If he has flirted with unsavoury alt-right characters there's every change I just missed it, but from what I've seen w0ke Kanye hasn't advocated for anything resembling ethno-national separatism and the like. He's said some silly things for sure, but nothing that gross as far as I know. Anyway it's a good review on the whole and I respect the central argument even if I may disagree at times, that part just kinda struck me as a misrepresentation.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy