Kanye West ye
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Faraudo
June 2nd 2018


3832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fuck I really dig this.

Digging: Crack Cloud - Pain Olympics

JeetJeet
June 2nd 2018


8615 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

TWEAKIN TWEAKIN OFF THAT 2CB HUUUHH

Digging: Jean Dawson - Pixel Bath

Toad
June 2nd 2018


2039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

excellent review. unfortunately, that's also pretty much how i feel about tlop.

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

“Lift Yourself” is better than anything on this album

Digging: Future Islands - As Long As You Are

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


11788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nicely written Row, I can understand the inability to seperate the art from artist when the two are so intimately intertwined, as they are here. Respectfully, I think there's some criticisms of the man himself that aren't altogether fair here, some that seem a little far-fetched (the alt-right comment in particular), but I agree that the album itself is rather lacklustre, bar some notable exceptions (Yikes, All Mine etc.). I was expecting a lot better, some tracks are inexcusably bad.

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


3000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i love this review so much largely because well-written obvs but also i completely agree with you!! it is an ugly album - perfect adjective, it's an album whose earnest moments are distorted with something almost vituperative and that, god help me, is why i like it. whatever. really interesting to parse and analyse and we could use some more of those.



...could probably use less alt-right in my life tho

Digging: Peanut Butter Wolf - Peanut Butter Breaks

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


3000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

also https://pitchfork.com/news/berlin-label-pan-claims-kanye-sampled-their-song-without-permission/ i was so stoked with his choice of sample in I Thought About Killing You but goddamn ye cough up

rodrigo90
June 3rd 2018


6437 Comments


Beyonce has one of the best videos of all time

Shredin0id
June 3rd 2018


25 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album is not good, at all. It's not terrible, but this just sounds incredibly awkward to me. 2018 has not been a good year for rap.

RosaParks
June 3rd 2018


593 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is so disappointing. How can Daytona be so good, but this so mediocre?

Ryus
June 3rd 2018


20809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah why would he do that forreal lol

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 3rd 2018


60679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ever since ye got red-pilled he's been objectively the best artist of human history

Digging: Oklou - Galore

Underflow
June 3rd 2018


4984 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"this is so disappointing. How can Daytona be so good, but this so mediocre?"

Because Daytona was made by a different, good artist.

RosaParks
June 3rd 2018


593 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

is the red pill like a vaccine? seems it gave him autism

RosaParks
June 3rd 2018


593 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Because Daytona was made by a different, good artist. "



but produced by the same person, don't be retarded. the production and beats on Daytona are even way better than they are on here. it's not just the rapper

Eons
June 3rd 2018


2851 Comments


What? I never heard anything about this album at all. I don't pay much attention to him but I mean I haven't seen this in the news at all which is bizarre as he's a complete attention whore.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


19559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like the production on here better than on Daytona

Darius The Imposter
June 3rd 2018


22573 Comments


"“Lift Yourself” is better than anything on this album"
No way Arcade bro

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


19559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah "lift yourself" is a cool sample but that's it. there are songs with ideas just as enticing as that on this album but better/more serious execution

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2018


44204 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4



didnt't realize how dumb "put my hand on the stove to see if I still bleed" sounds until you put it out there, lol



good review--i can see where you are coming from. thinking of reviewing this from the perspective of a guy who just can't get enough of kanye's melodic instincts etc. but we'll see




thanks. yeah it sounds like Kanye poorly quoting an episode of Bojack Horseman lmao. I'll always agree that Ye has an incredible ear for melodies but he just sabotages them far too much for that to redeem this album imo



unfortunately, that's also pretty much how i feel about tlop.




sure there was some bad posts around that time (bill cosby innocent, notably) but I could still separate art from artist when that dropped. also, Real Friends/FML/Ultralight Beam tho!



I think there's some criticisms of the man himself that aren't altogether fair here, some that seem a little far-fetched (the alt-right comment in particular)




thanks man, which part seems far-fetched to you though? cos he has thrown his support behind some terrifically bad alt-right personalities, that's an unfortunate fact

Digging: Black Thought - Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy