Kanye West ye
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2018


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In either case: :hugging:

TumsFestival
June 2nd 2018


2470 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

his Jake Paul flow on Yikes is yikes

ABond
June 2nd 2018


334 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Kanye continues his trend of going into a manic faze and writing, producing, and recording an album very quickly, while throwing in everything he thought was cool or inspiring during that process into the mix. That's commendable, and IMO, the best way to go about the creative process, the best way to go about starting a great artistic project from scratch. The problem is, after that initial faze, you are meant to go into studio with someone who is not your indisputable "Yes man", spend a couple of months there, honing down the material, polishing it up, abandoning things that may have seemed "genius" when you were writing but obviously fall flat, and coming out with a well thought out, carefully crafted album, with great mix and mastering.



Instead, for a third album in a row, Kanye releases what's essentially a rough demo as the actual album, instead of taking his time to make it great.



DoofusWainwright
June 2nd 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

I read that somewhere before

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2018


19581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Worst of all, our first taste of the Kids See Ghosts project, the lumbering and clumsy "Ghost Town""



doesnt matter at all but I would add an "is" in there to make this have a verb, or whatever that's called grammatically



didnt't realize how dumb "put my hand on the stove to see if I still bleed" sounds until you put it out there, lol



good review--i can see where you are coming from. thinking of reviewing this from the perspective of a guy who just can't get enough of kanye's melodic instincts etc. but we'll see

AdolfHitler
June 2nd 2018


3 Comments


that album cover...

mindleviticus
June 2nd 2018


10142 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

can we stop giving this guy a free pass because he made MBDTF

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2018


19581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

he's made at least two albums better than MBDTF > : )

mindleviticus
June 2nd 2018


10142 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

damn forgot about the early stuff

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2018


19581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ah I think I see your point now. fair enough

mindleviticus
June 2nd 2018


10142 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

he really should know better that this stuff is going to elicit this kind of reaction



wait what am i saying it's kanye

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2018


57430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess I'm gonna have to review this

Digging: Charli XCX - How I'm Feeling Now

Spacesh1p
June 2nd 2018


7717 Comments


Great work Row, I fully agree with you.

Marxman
June 2nd 2018


62 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"his Jake Paul flow on Yikes is yikes"



Kinda, but I think it speaks volumes that Yikes is the only track on the album worth anyone's time, though I think that's mostly down to the beat being fire.



Agree 100% with this review. Kanye the musician has finally sunk to the level of Kanye the person. Gross and ignorant.

xfearbefore
June 2nd 2018


1965 Comments


Yikes is fire. Rest not so much.

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

P0laris
June 2nd 2018


383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm so glad this is the default review.

P0laris
June 2nd 2018


383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review as always.

Funeralopolis
June 2nd 2018


14407 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Kanye can do no wrong for me (musically). Jammin' hard.

Digging: Atheist - Unquestionable Presence

DoofusWainwright
June 2nd 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Loving the average for this - if it drops to a 2.6 I might cry real tears of joy

romulanrancor
June 2nd 2018


7468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

his flow on yikes reminds me of a kendrick flow



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy