Amorphis Queen of Time
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2018


21966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

1 minute into the Bee and this is like the best shit ever lol

Digging: Love Club - Lime Twigs and Treachery

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2018


21966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit, Anneke is featured on here!? "Amongst the Stars" just floored me man!

Rik VII
May 21st 2018


4126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Amonst the Stars' ending is amazing. It's like Anneke was born to sing that vocalise.

Egarran
May 21st 2018


18588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

RIDE ON THE GOLDEN STREAM

Digging: Acoustic Ladyland - Living With A Tiger

BladeRunner
May 21st 2018


498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"not sure, they haven't really posted that much information on it. I can wait though, it's not until October. From what I understand is that it was a last minute addition."



Yea...I have emailed a few times in regards to the Worcester, MA show, but haven't been able to get much beyond a confirmation from the Amorphis camp that the show is definitely on, but tix aren't on sale yet. No reason was given as to why.

DungeonBoy
May 21st 2018


7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still getting through my first listen, but it was very cool to hear real strings used on The Golden Elk, they breathe so much life into that part.

Marehelm
May 21st 2018


862 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is good

BigPleb
May 21st 2018


61489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Everything just feels too meticulous.



Like I said before the songs are well written and performed but just come off as a little too clinical and regemented.



There were no transitions etc that surprised me, I was looking for something a bit more adventurous and loose.



Still, this was a decent listen but nothing I have the desire to return to.

Willie
Moderator
May 21st 2018


18823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I love how meticulous and clinical this is, and there's so many layers to every song. Throwing this on with some good headphones brings so many new elements to light.

Rik VII
May 21st 2018


4126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"There were no transitions etc that surprised me"



That seems odd to me. There are a lot of parts that feel pretty abrupt and surprising, like that saxophone solo in Daughter of Hate. That caught me off-guard (but it's awesome).



Also agreed with Willie, and it's obvious that this album doesn't want to be rough and gritty in any way. It's not an old school-style melodeath record and it does very well at not being one.

ChaoticVortex
May 21st 2018


1055 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This album floored me. Top 3 Amorphis easily.

Gmork89
May 21st 2018


8109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love this, but I do understand where he's coming from. It is a little formulaic, the intro has a little diddy melody, then the melody gets heavier, we have a verse, they bring that intro melody back for the chorus etc.



I don't really have a huge issue with this myself, but I see how some people can find it to be clinical and by the numbers at times.

Wildcardbitchesss
May 21st 2018


4427 Comments


How often is a bands THIRTEENTH album their best?

Vesquezo
May 21st 2018


2 Comments


The spoken word part on Daughter of Hate is not latin. It's finnish.

Darkwatch025
May 21st 2018


364 Comments


Love this band. The album is great!

BladeRunner
May 21st 2018


498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I love how meticulous and clinical this is, and there's so many layers to every song. Throwing this on with some good headphones brings so many new elements to light. "



This is the reason I have yet to throw a rating at this record. I have been primarily listening to this at work since release, so I am unable to really focus in and give it a proper listen. Once I sit down with some headphones on, I will have a better ides where it stands as far as a rating is concerned.

Xenorazr
May 21st 2018


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Vesquezo: Whoops, right you are. Thanks for the heads up.

DarkNoctus
May 21st 2018


11229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

there is such a ridiculous amount of density to this record and yet on the surface level it is so enjoyable too. it's such a rewarding record even if you're listening passively or meticulously taking every layer apart. from start to finish this has to be their best record yet and my aoty so far.



i don't think they've quite topped the track "white night" though. that would be impossible. however, "amongst stars" comes SO close. that track is pure magic. gives me goosebumps immediately.

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

Xenorazr
May 21st 2018


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, "White Night" is such a chilling closer. It, along with "Tree of Ages," were the two tracks that grew the most on me from Under the Red Cloud.

Willie
Moderator
May 21st 2018


18823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

--How often is a bands THIRTEENTH album their best?--

Fates Warning - Theories of Flight.... It's technically their 12th, but close enough.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy