Jon Hopkins Singularity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
EphemeralEternity
May 6th 2018


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well written review for sure, though not sure I quite see eye to eye with some of the sentiments expressed, and I personally don't think its a very accurate recreation of a hallucinogenic experience at all. I wouldn't be surprised if Jon was lacking an overall theme so decided to go with hallucinogens because why not, and then name it something vaguely futuristic sounding (he said in one interview it's not actually about the technological revolt, and by definition singularity refers to differences and not similarities or connection, which would appear to somewhat contradict another loosely recurring theme).



Anyway it's quite a difficult album to review imo, I tried my hand at it on rym and am not at all happy with I churned out in hindsight.Solid review and I appreciate how you didn't handcuff it to immunity throughout too. Besides some quibbles it's a fantastic album as well.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
May 6th 2018


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"and I personally don't think its a very accurate recreation of a hallucinogenic experience at all"

i don't really reference it specifically, aside from mentioning it as his alleged inspiration. don't think i even mentioned drug use

(though maybe you weren't really digging at my writing; though you included it within the same sentence as "nice review, but__"



"he said in one interview it's not actually about the technological revolt"

fair, but strong music/art/literature etc isn't too strictly allegorical anyway (well, it doesn't have to be*), so i drew what i drew and only care about the artistic intent insofar as briefly mentioning it as a sort of obligatory journalistic nod - if me and the artist's views align on the way then that's cool

EphemeralEternity
May 6th 2018


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah sorry that comment seemed unduly pedantic, I guess we just drew different inferences from it. Maybe ill spin this whilst tripping some day and recant what I said..



edit:also sorry shouldn't have incorporated that into one sentence, I understand you were relaying the theme

Trophycase
May 6th 2018


1930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"and I personally don't think its a very accurate recreation of a hallucinogenic experience at all"



maybe not the hallucinogenic aspect specifically, but the first half of Neon Pattern Drum sounds a hell of a lot like what I was hearing on mushrooms. Basically all the ambient noise around me was in rhythm and this sounds very similar IMO

Faraudo
May 6th 2018


3495 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

AOTY so far. Easy pick.

Digging: Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

RadicalEd
May 6th 2018


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amazing review, very good LP. First 4 songs are god tier.

EphemeralEternity
May 6th 2018


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hmm tbf the only experience I have with boomers is 2 terrible trips, both in situations where I should never have done them, so I can't talk there. LSD was just a vague humming sound when in silence, and any music felt a little more full and layered. This is definitely on the shortlist of stuff to listen to on the next trip tho

polyrhythm
May 6th 2018


2289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

There is a lot to like here. I think he perfected his glitchier style, but failed to bring the same heart to his ambient tracks this time around. The pacing is also pretty naff. The blissed-out stretch of tunes comes too soon and lasts too long

Digging: Boredoms - Seadrum/House Of Sun

EphemeralEternity
May 6th 2018


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah, if we had another 'everything connected' instead of 'echo dissolve' it might be a 5

anatelier
May 6th 2018


3524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can certainly see that viewpoint, or even if echo dissolve was just nixed I think people would be more on board with the back half

Digging: Pottery - Welcome to Bobby's Motel

polyrhythm
May 6th 2018


2289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think having a busy Side A and an ambient Side B has to really be done right to work. On an album like Feels, The King Of Limbs or Remain in Light, the second half feels like a slow release of energy that had accumulated over the course of Side A. I don't think that works here as well as it could/should

polyrhythm
May 6th 2018


2289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It really is the difference between a blissful sense of arrival versus just trailing off...

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2018


18902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review, I recently discovered Jon Hopkins and have been meaning to jam his albums, along with other ambient electronic. Before and After Science being in the recommended section has me even more curious to check this out.

Digging: Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

zakalwe
May 6th 2018


31188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Poly is talking a lot of sense there. I think I might buy this, never play it and forget about it.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
May 6th 2018


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

imo it’s more trailing up than trailing off

polyrhythm
May 6th 2018


2289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

That's a nice way to put it. My longterm enjoyment of this is hinged on that transition working better over the course of my next few listens. Otherwise, this gets a bump down to 3.5 and a spot on the shelf...

EphemeralEternity
May 6th 2018


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

piano exclusive pieces don't really play to his strengths imo, his shit should always have some more ambience or layers behind it - immunity (the track) being a perfect example of what i'm getting at.



If the track preceding it were something unrelenting then could probably justify a very slow, minimal piano outro, but as we all keep repeating using different words, the latter half is a little too mellow for its own good.

DoofusWainwright
May 6th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, I'm not totally convinced this is better than his previous album but i've only listened to this twice so far

zakalwe
May 6th 2018


31188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Despite me not wanting to like it, I like it. I’ve headed the way of the wanker.

Mentasm
May 6th 2018


567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

typical southern fairy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy