Jon Hopkins Singularity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jtswope
May 5th 2018


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review as always

rabidfish
May 5th 2018


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'm geniunely asking

i mean, i get people like this sorta music. i kinda do, too... I just find this so devoid of personality. It's anodyne music.

Digging: Carla dal Forno - Look Up Sharp

Gyromania
May 5th 2018


29913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Coming from the guy who shitposts almost exclusively? Lol

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
May 5th 2018


6806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i mean, there's plenty of bandcamp / soundcloud metal bands emulating the more successful ones but there's a certain threshold to cross that separates a forgettable 2/5 artist and a 4.5/5 one. Hopkins has an ear for texture and composition that the average producer simply does not.

Mentasm
May 5th 2018


567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

His production is always top notch, I don't even want to know how expensive his hardware is.

rabidfish
May 5th 2018


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yea, production is top notch, but compositionally i don't see it as much... He's crescendos are fullfiling, but so predictable and repetitive i really don't get any sort of excitement out of them. I get this is more contemplative electronica, but i dunno... it sounds too much like new car ad music.

Mentasm
May 5th 2018


567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Please don't call it electronica. I beg of you.

rabidfish
May 6th 2018


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol what's the big deal? so many people get triggered by that word, does it have some kind of bad undertone?



I don't mean no diss, mah nig.



Cygnatti
May 6th 2018


33244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^that word has a history. i don't know the story but i have a feeling it has to do with people just calling any electronic genre "electronica" and it prob has annoyed people for decades.

Digging: Yung Lean - Starz

rabidfish
May 6th 2018


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

buncha soybois snowflakes, i tell ya

i remember when 'the big bib-boopys' was the universal term.

Relinquished
May 6th 2018


44669 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the what

rabidfish
May 6th 2018


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

bib-boopys

Gyromania
May 6th 2018


29913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow.... Wow. It's 'electronic'. Do your homework you pleb. So embarrassing

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2018


2926 Comments


it fits under the electronica umbrella, no point getting upset over pretty petty distinctions
stellar review but u didn't mention dazed and confused in your list of movies targetting the ephemeral sooooo uhhhhh

Digging: Owen Pallett - Island

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
May 6th 2018


6806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also didn’t mention ferris, smh (looks skyward) why am I like this

MotokoKusanagi
May 6th 2018


2997 Comments


hey this got a review. nice

Digging: Regis - Hidden In This Is The Light That You Miss

Underflow
May 6th 2018


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this sounds so good

Underflow
May 6th 2018


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also shoutout to my fellow ghost in the shell fan, whats up

MotokoKusanagi
May 6th 2018


2997 Comments


hell ya, what's good brotha. you heard Immunity before?

Underflow
May 6th 2018


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a long time ago, but i didn't spin it more than once. i'm gonna have to change that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy