Okkervil River In The Rainbow Rain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JS19
May 3rd 2018


7734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is one of the better indie records this year - just not very comparable to Away at all

DoofusWainwright
May 3rd 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Listening again now...only thing that reminds me this isn't the last Killers record is the vocals.



I don't dig it, it's not awful, and 'External Actor' still packs some 'Away' magic - but it's levelled out at 3

DoofusWainwright
May 3rd 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sadly I'd say this is the closest to an album where every song is a 2.5-3.5 except the one song that's a 5/5 - 'External Actor'

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2018


14958 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That's a shame Doof bro, you ever heard their album Down The River of Golden Dreams? That's an all time top 20

Digging: Moral Decay - To Build an End

DoofusWainwright
May 4th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I need to listen to their early stuff - 'Black Sheep Boy' I did listen to a long time ago but I remember so little about it I haven't put a rating up

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2018


14958 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Check the prior mentioned. Or at least check the track 'The War Criminal Rises and Speaks' right now !!

theBoneyKing
May 4th 2018


20672 Comments


Doof the only one I’ve heard is their debut but I love it, idk what the rest of their stuff sounds like but that one is basically alt-country.

DoofusWainwright
May 4th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This isn’t alt country at all - I’ll check their discog soon

DoofusWainwright
May 4th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Checking their earlier stuff (pre Stage Names) and I think Sheff has learnt how to make his (let's be honest) reedy and a bit grating voice sound a lot better across a full album later in his career.



'Away' worked well because he mixed up his vocals with the more spoken word style, some softer but not overly sentimental delivery, and...let's the music breath into instrumental work and layering a lot more. Think 'Days Spent Floating' which is absolutely sublime but a bit of a one off - they should do this style a lot more.



Saying all that 'Black Sheep' and 'Down the River' both have a lot going for them, particularly in the front halves.



Probably a band where all I strictly need is a 15-20 track Best Of - which is what I'll probably end up creating.

tom79
May 4th 2018


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Only External Actor and LA stood out to me on first listen but I'll have to give it a few more. Listened to these guys a lot way back then fell out sometime after The Stand Ins. Early discog is real solid though.

DoofusWainwright
May 4th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Check ‘Away’ tom

tom79
May 4th 2018


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Will do. On another note, they have consistently fantastic album art.

WillieD
May 7th 2018


332 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"For Real" on Black Sheep Boy is my favorite song of theirs. It really hits ya.

NorthernSkylark
May 30th 2018


11504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this a ton!

Digging: The Radio Dept. - Clinging to a Scheme

Papa Universe
May 30th 2018


22505 Comments


The album might be among their weakest, but The Dream and the Light is a fantastic track.

JS19
June 7th 2018


7734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pitchfork gave it a 6.9. That has to be on purpose after the lyrics of The Industry right?

hazelnutsack
June 22nd 2018


44 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is lit I lied

Spiral Skies
September 12th 2018


204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Family Song and Shelter Song are really nice.

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2020


14958 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

returning to this after a while and it does really feel like okkervil on cruise control, hasn't held up well. They're one of the bands I just can't see returning to their best unfortunately

WillieD
September 13th 2020


332 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Same.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy