Lil Xan
TOTAL XANARCHY


1.0
awful

Review

by TheCakeIsALie USER (12 Reviews)
April 10th, 2018 | 130 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A collection of dirty stiff socks found from under Lil' Xan's bed, sold at the price of an actual album of music.

At this point, after sifting through lists and lists of emoji-laden audio waves, what can anyone find worthwhile, on Soundcloud" You have a few peaks of amazing, innovative content and a whole lot of unfortunate valleys, where anyone with a BIC-pen face tattoo and a doctor's prescription can blow-up. Although, there are a few peaks to balance jive along two if fun releases like Lil' Pump's Gucci Gang is something to go by. But, in the deepest of Souncloud's bowels, we found Lil' Xan. Having all the tropes to form the generic Soundcloud Rapper; blatant body-modification, a mega-phone in hand to announce his addiction, and a how-to-adlib manual glued to his tongue, the Californian rapper is blowing up across every platform you use online and you wanna know if Total Xanarchy might be worth a try.

If one wishes to spend time engaging with repetitive, "turnt-up" rap music or not (hey, it is an intensely fun genre at times), Lil' Xan's debut reveals two things about his own position in the genre which should make you turn away from this release. First, he is possibly the laziest person lying in the beanbag of the trap lounge. We all know that this music is not lyrically potent, but even the basics of basic-ass rap has some sort of concept to follow. Lil' Xan avoids conceptual development like one wishes to keep away from babies on airplanes, and having to sit-through and try to actively find out what each track possibly means, fifteen times, is an exercise in brain-grating. Second, he hacks ideas from past and present artists so shamefully, that I felt like putting a DCMA claim on every video and stream on the behalf of A$AP Rocky, Post-Malone, and, of course, Lil' Pump. Taking all this into account when looking at the overall time of the album, Total Xanarchy irritates the listener to the point of fun and irony being bludgeoned to death by its monotonous and plagiarizing gravity. 43 minutes of continuous trap cliches, eery production, and an addictive yet cheap persona, make for one of the hardest musical outings anyone might have to endure. Sure, the features are nice, but what good does having YG or 2Chainz on a track if one has to return immediately to the attitude-reliant cadaver that is Lil' Xan, who drones on like the corpse of a reanimated teenager, who was dead for weeks from a lean overdose.

Many, including myself, love this genre. It's fun and almost colorful audio, which could grow and provide room for creative people to spin it in all kinds of wonderful directions. But for now, we have an over-saturated market of party trap and that's okay. Whether the individuals who scream about the quantities of drugs and genitalia they partake in care about art and concept is not the problem. It's mainly fun some of us are looking for. But Total Xanarchy is not fun. You see, I personally wanted a colorful portrayal of arrogance, confetti and drug-abuse, not to endure what could possibly be voice one hears when overdosing. It is a disgusting, overexertion of human sanity and, simply put, a collection of dirty stiff socks found from under Lil' Xan's bed, sold at the price of an actual album of music.



Recent reviews by this author
Logic Bobby Tarantino IIDevilDriver Trust No One
Slaves Through Art We Are All EqualsSuicide Silence You Can't Stop Me
Vinterbris SolaceMad Caddies Dirty Rice
user ratings (123)
Chart.
1.2
awful

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheCakeIsALie
April 10th 2018


49 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I wanted to do a positive review of this, but I feel this entry sets the overall genre back a thousand steps. Criticize my angle/article, please

Sinternet
April 10th 2018


19109 Comments


this guy is so so so trash

Digging: Marina - LOVE

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2018


14239 Comments


yeah i think ill pass on this

Digging: Xiu Xiu - Plays The Music Of Twin Peaks

Zeuzo
April 10th 2018


1989 Comments


:[[

deathschool
April 10th 2018


23917 Comments


Is that 4, 4 real?

TheCakeIsALie
April 10th 2018


49 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Is that 4, 4 real?





I get it, but I just can't defend this album, in any way.

deathschool
April 10th 2018


23917 Comments


I think your first sentence is supposed to be a question, but it's also worded a little weird, so I'm not sure.

Zeuzo
April 10th 2018


1989 Comments


"Is that 4, 4 real?"

Probably not but it's also not bad...had a pretty fun time listening

TheCakeIsALie
April 10th 2018


49 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Fixed

TheCakeIsALie
April 10th 2018


49 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nevermind. The site has decided a question mark is now an inverted comma. :/

Drifter
April 10th 2018


15392 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Lol fuck this guy

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2018


15478 Comments


Youth these days... tsk tsk...

Dope review though.

Digging: Ioanna Gika - Thalassa

JWT155
April 10th 2018


14355 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yep this is a 1.

Prancer
April 10th 2018


941 Comments


that album cover is disgusting

ExecutiveExecuterexe
April 10th 2018


484 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

this is what you get when an emo kid tries to be a rapper.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
April 10th 2018


2844 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Much, much preferred your last review, if I'm being honest. Not that this is bad -- it's quite well-written-- but something about your angle feels a little off to me: I don't buy into your comparisons, they feel a little surface-level w/o explanation. It might've made more sense to bring up artists you do like within the scene (that's if you were to have stuck with the comparative approach, which you pull off really well in your Logic review) and then demonstrated how Xan doesn't live up to the quality of those specific artists. Otherwise your attempt to position Lil Xan within a wider context feels a bit insufficient (to me, at least). It feels like an outsider's perspective, one that doesn't take the music seriously in the first place -- which is more than fine, mind you, but I think it'd have been worth taking a more personal and less objective angle if that were the case, i.e. narrow your scope. I think the review ignores/dismisses an attempt (perhaps unsuccessful) to develop themes and a throughline within the album, too.

Again, this isn't bad writing at all, the approach just rubs me the wrong way. Thought your last review was fantastic. Never liked Xan much, but I didn't hate this -- Far and some of the songs on the back end are decent, and I shamelessly enjoy The Man. Oh, and the question mark bug is site-wide, you can use alternate characters such as ❔ if it bothers you enough, or whatever you like the look of. (:

DominionMM1
April 10th 2018


17936 Comments


"It feels like an outsider's perspective, one that doesn't take the music seriously in the first place"

are you saying that there are real actual people who take this shit seriously?

Zeuzo
April 10th 2018


1989 Comments


I had a pretty serious bong to this...maybe that's why I enjoyed it haha

TheLongShot
April 10th 2018


748 Comments


Album cover is a solid NO/10

gryndstone
April 10th 2018


1238 Comments


If Charli XCX couldn't save this why is it worth listening to

Digging: The Chemical Brothers - No Geography



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy