Kamelot The Shadow Theory
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MarsKid
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2018


20589 Comments


Gonna plug in Seventh Wonder, Tommy's other band, who got a new album in the works and have a discog that is just as good if not better than Kamelot's Khan-era.

Xenorazr
April 7th 2018


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'd give the edge to Khan-era Kamelot on that one only because Seventh Wonder lyrics have always been pretty bad while even the worst Kamelot lyrics are simply cheesy without being embarrassing.

MarsKid
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2018


20589 Comments


Well yeah you got me there haha

And the voice actors on Mercy Falls...

Xenorazr
April 7th 2018


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Musically though, it's a tough call. Karma/Epica/The Black Halo is a consecutive home run, only to be followed by two slumps (enjoyable slumps, but slumps nonetheless), while each Seventh Wonder album has fantastic music with some awkward moments (I don't count their debut).

MarsKid
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2018


20589 Comments


I am massively hyped for their new release, whenever it happens to appear. 2018 seems to be the destined time.

Dmax28
April 7th 2018


1254 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What do you say is the standout here? MindFall Remedy, Vespertine, and The Proud and the Broken are pretty solid.

Xenorazr
April 7th 2018


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The Proud and the Broken is the only one that stood out to me. There are parts I like in Amnesiac and Kevlar Skin, but the entire album is kind of a mesh.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2018


18230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Hey man a bit of cc:



For better or worse (but for this case, MUCH better), The Shadow Theory proves that very notion.




Your review is full of the very notion that this is top-tier, album of the year material. While the “better or worse” phrase is almost used as much as google it works backwards when you have to re-explain that you think it’s for “better”. It kills your flow and sounds like a rushed thought. Consider removing the start of this sentence and rework the second fragment into a stronger close for that paragraph.



Not only is this his best performance with Kamelot, it's his best performance, period.




Sweeping heresay built on unmatchable hyperbole. Yuck. It’s a bit of a stretch to say you’ve heard each and every performance in the context of this setting. It sounds like you’ve been to every practice session, live, busking, studio LP, EP, charity event, possible wedding et al.





(The former with help of Beyond the Black's Jennifer Haben).


Seperate sentence should be included in the sentence before it, especially if in brackets. Otherwise remove brackets and expand - helping back up your points.





(look, Khan made an Easter song called "For All', that should satisfy your blue balls for a while),




Relevance? And c’mon your better than bringing testicular references into your review.





Hopefully you can see I’m being pretty nit-picky and I like your review but it’s not on the same level as your last five or so. Maybe it’s the high score/fanboy thing going on (clouding your thought process) but I don’t feel right giving you a pos for this at this time.

Xenorazr
April 7th 2018


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Toon, you're really going to hate my review. :D

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2018


18230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yay a Xeno review : ]

EvoHavok
April 7th 2018


8075 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules, but I'll give it some time before deciding its place in their catalogue. I remember keeping Haven in a very high regard at the start and while I can't say it really grew off me, it was the initial hype that influenced it.

Beardog
April 7th 2018


4552 Comments


Review makes me wanna check this out, good job Toon. Not sure if I´ll enjoy it as much as you do but I hope I do

InFlamesWeThrash666
April 7th 2018


10537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Reviewer is definitely a dreamer and a fool :]

Crawl
April 7th 2018


2944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Karevik era is just not nearly as interesting as Khan era to me. This pales in comparison even to previous Karevik's albums. Haven had those huge choruses, which cannot be said about this one.

EvoHavok
April 7th 2018


8075 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is full of epic choruses as well, though. It's one area where they'll always deliver.

Sabrutin
April 7th 2018


9452 Comments


Haven didn't move me in any way and the singles for this one didn't fare much better, so I won't be in a hurry to check this out. I checked The Proud and the Broken but I don't feel it :[

Crawl
April 7th 2018


2944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lyrically, this is also really weak (as was Haven). Overall, just very vague and cliche'd. Khan's lyrics were often rather cheesy, but at least they invoked an atmosphere (Epica and Blach Halo especially, but also tracks like Elizabeth or Nights of Arabia).

mifzal
April 7th 2018


3439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

kinda meh to be honest

ShadowNeko
April 7th 2018


355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really awesome album. Haters gonna hate lmao.

Xenorazr
April 7th 2018


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Not hating, just disappointed and frustrated.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy