Mount Eerie Now Only
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AnimalsAsSummit
March 18th 2018


4877 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yuck that album art reminds me of williamsburg, or wes anderson

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2018


43738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

yeah the parallel with Kozelek has been pretty clear since Crow for me. in the vocal delivery for sure



Elvrum's actually doing it in service of good music is the major difference

aNightingale
March 19th 2018


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really nice review, particularly the last para. still trying to form my own interpretation re: the raven vs crow, though yours is convincing. kinda curious as to whether it has anything to do with the mating/pairing habits of each, but probably looking too deep into that.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 19th 2018


54513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh ya, good review rowan. I actuallu read the whole thing which means its good cuz my attention span for reviews is like non-existent

Digging: Populous - W

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 19th 2018


54513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Smash some italics on that last bit and call it a twin peaks reference

Astral Abortis
March 19th 2018


6745 Comments


Wes Anderson rules agreed

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2018


43738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

keen as for isle of dogs tbh



cheers potsy, have you listened to the sounds on the album yet

Astral Abortis
March 19th 2018


6745 Comments


Isle of Dogs is gonna be sooooo goooood

Papa Universe
March 19th 2018


22505 Comments


Three cheers for Isle of Dogs. Good film (it will be).

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2018


157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

‘Perth, Western Australia’



hey that’s where i live

Digging: Freddie Gibbs and The Alchemist - Alfredo

Papa Universe
March 19th 2018


22505 Comments


cool

aNightingale
March 20th 2018


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

isle of dogs can't not be good, fantastic mr fox was incredible. been listening to this so much, it's surprising how engaging a song like two paintings can be even after repeat listens. there's something so strangely comforting about this album.

Deathconscious
March 20th 2018


24646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah that is strange, comforting is the last thing i would call it.

Digging: Defeated Sanity - The Sanguinary Impetus

Ryus
March 20th 2018


18577 Comments


"yuck that album art reminds me of williamsburg"

LMAO

aNightingale
March 20th 2018


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Yeah that is strange, comforting is the last thing i would call it."

fair. i think (for me) it’s that whereas a crow looked at me seemed to force phil to confront the death of geneviève, this feels more like a celebration of her life – an acceptance that she’s gone and that he’ll be gone and that even though it’s tragic and unfair, it’s real and human, and people have the power to reflect upon and make an impression on life and existence. on a crow looked at me there’s the uncomfortable push – a restlessness – of time that, despite phil’s attempts to resist and push back, forces him to move forward. here it feels like he has some semblance of control – things still suck, but there’s something wonderful about him being able to capture lives through song. he can reflect on his ancestors and people throughout time. he gives himself to time. he capitulates and fights forward rather than backward. it feels more like a product of love than grief.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2018


19696 Comments


So this riffs?

m/

Digging: Mrs. Piss - Self-Surgery

Deathconscious
March 20th 2018


24646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes. It will riff you to tears.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2018


19696 Comments


If it riffs the same as Crow I'm out, that thing shredded me.

Deathconscious
March 20th 2018


24646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not quite as much but it gets pretty devastating.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2018


19696 Comments


Damn



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy