Anna von Hausswolff Dead Magic
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JayEnder
September 14th 2021


13984 Comments


Album cover drew me to this. Wish I liked it more, its definitely a weird one that needs more time to settle.

Mysterious Vanishing owns tho.

Digging: Static Dress - Rouge Carpet Disaster

kevbogz
September 14th 2021


4522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

if ugly and vengeful didn't give u a proper fright then idk m8

Digging: Comatose (USA-MN) - A Way Back

JayEnder
September 14th 2021


13984 Comments


On my second spin now and this is already growing on me like crazy. Ugly and Vengeful is absolutely haunting yeah, love how unsettling these soundscapes are. She invokes terror without being overly edgy (ahem lingua ignota)

kevbogz
September 14th 2021


4522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's nothing short of excellent, true.



peep if u haven't already https://youtu.be/n8YhnF0ng4c

JayEnder
September 15th 2021


13984 Comments


Wow she's stunning, really powerful voice. Her darker stuff like on here is more up my alley though.

Damn I gotta bump this up to a 4

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2021


27977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Always happy to see a bump of this one. Can't wait for new stuff from her.

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

JayEnder
September 15th 2021


13984 Comments


Hell yeah Dewi. Fantastic review by the way!

Gotta check her other stuff asap, been trying to find more female artists and this girl is amazing.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2021


27977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh dude you're in for a treat, her catalogue is amazing. This one's my favorite but Ceremony and The Miraculous are also incredibly good.



Her debut is probably my least favorite since it's more orthodox folky stuff but it's also pretty good.



And of course there's the last one which is amazing even if I miss her singing.

po0ty
December 20th 2021


683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just checked this out and damn the ending of 'The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra' is something special

porcupinetheater
December 20th 2021


9775 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Mysterious Vanishing is the hook that sinks in deep on first listen and then repeats reveal oop one of the best of the last decade, just a fucking treasure trove

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2021


27977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ugly and Vengeful is where it's at.

porcupinetheater
December 20th 2021


9775 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

big [2] also Truth, Glow, Fall's slow descent from almost upbeat chords into the gloom whirlpool

Eons
December 21st 2021


3506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You have to say her last name with attitude, I think. It's the perfect name to say in an angry way. Anna von HaussWOLFF.

Trifolium
December 21st 2021


31925 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Ugly and Vengeful is where it's at." [3]!!!

Demon of the Fall
December 21st 2021


24591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel no anger when listening to Anna Von's music, only joy (or a comforting solemnness or something idk)

Digging: Gospel - The Loser

Mythodea
December 21st 2021


7327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sometimes I feel scared, tbh

Trifolium
December 21st 2021


31925 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Me too and me too!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2022


27977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just listening to the live version of the Mysterious Vanishing of Electra and feeling things right now.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2022


27977 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's out!

Pangea
January 14th 2022


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yeah

Digging: Gospel - The Loser



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy