Endless Heights Vicious Pleasure
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tranqyl
February 21st 2018


277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What if the red blob at the top means it's a clown making out with a chick?

Digging: Inkwell Moon - Bad Day Dream

Dewinged
February 21st 2018


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Loving your under the radar thing Sowing so I'll be sure to check this out.

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - On Dark Horses

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 21st 2018


27707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks. I think this is my favorite out of the 3 I've reviewed so far (although All The Luck In the World - Blind Arcade comes out in 2 days). It might not be the most apt comparison ever but this really feels like Deftones meets O'Brother, just not quite as catchy (which isn't really the aim).

Dewinged
February 21st 2018


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It it is slightly close to any of those two bands I will probably like it.



I am really curious about All The Luck In the World. Let's see how it turns out.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 21st 2018


27707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Me too. I'm kind of unreasonably hyped given that out of the 4 songs released, 1 is pretty forgettable (Contrails), 2 are great (Landmark, Golden October), and one of the best ones is inexplicably a b-side (The Cape of False Hope). Could end up being a mixed bag, but if the majority of the record trends towards the upper end of the band's potential then it will be an easy 4+

Dewinged
February 21st 2018


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice. Gonna check the singles today with that in mind. If they are half as good as that cover I'll be sold.

Voltimand
February 21st 2018


850 Comments


"like an alt-indie/hardcore version of deftones without all the screaming"

Already won me over, bruh. Gona listen to this hard tmrw

Digging: Skyharbor - Sunshine Dust

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 21st 2018


27707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah I hope I didn't oversell it, but it's quite good if you don't mind not having a handful of hooks/choruses to remember it by. In the moment, it's a pretty powerful record with plenty of great guitar work, drumming, and vocals.

Hellscythe
February 22nd 2018


2880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really haven't listened to much else besides this for the past couple days. it's quickly turning into one of my favorites of the year so far.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 22nd 2018


27707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah it does that. I think it supplanted Senses Fail as my early aoty...

coldheaven
February 22nd 2018


4482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh man, this is guuuuuuuuuuud

Digging: Nothing - Dance On The Blacktop

Tranqyl
February 22nd 2018


277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely becoming an early aoty contender for me too. It's like this dreamlike state that pulls you in while giving you a rough fucking.

Tranqyl
February 22nd 2018


277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely becoming an early aoty contender for me too. It's like this dreamlike state that pulls you in while giving you a rough fucking.



(Edit, didn't intend to post twice and now I can't delete it. RIP.)

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2018


2524 Comments


Wasn't my thing on first listen, but the review and artwork make me want to give it some more time. Beautiful writing.

ProjectFreak
February 22nd 2018


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Eh, I'll give this another spin, but as far as Sowing hype albums I'm mostly here for All the Luck in the World

MarsKid
February 22nd 2018


7152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do feel like this was oversold to me, I didn't get a sense of the intensity. The song structures start to blend into each other. I can tell the vocalist has power, but for whatever reason he pulls back at moments when he should be really hitting them notes, which makes things sound pretty anticlimactic--chorus on the first real track is a perfect example. But that just boils down to subjectivity.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 22nd 2018


27707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah I tried to work in some lukewarm criticism of the homogeneity / lack of distinguishable melodies, but I do feel like that is the only true weakness. It was plenty powerful IMO, it's goal isn't to bring down the house so much as sustain a sense of heightened anxiety. Bubbling under the surface is like the perfect description for how this whole thing progresses.

MarsKid
February 22nd 2018


7152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I definitely feel that sensation, but I wish the vocalist cut loose a bit more. It really does feel like he's restraining himself at inopportune moments.

ProjectFreak
February 22nd 2018


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, I don't get a lot of atmosphere here. There's some cool guitar work but the vocals are pretty pedestrian most of the time. The drums are also way overproduced for my taste, kinda rendering the whole thing sterile.

Tranqyl
February 22nd 2018


277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think that the vocals generally help with the dreamlike atmosphere. Sure, there are times when the vocalist aught to let loose more, but there are many occasions where his restraint helps enhance the atmosphere. It's like a more emo, hardcore-lite version of the dreamier Deftones tracks (Sextape, Digital Bath, etc)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy