Tribulation Down Below
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2018


19577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The more I read about this album, the more I feel this is the kind of stuff Katatonia was trying to do in the beginning once they went pass their doom phase.



Great review manosg!

Digging: Melt-Banana - Teeny Shiny

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2018


11936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Interesting take about Katatonia, Dewi and I always love conversations about drawing comparisons. The thing about these guys is that they do have their own character but if I was to make something of comparison to previous bands, one of them would probably be Katatonia on Tonight's Decision. Other bands would be Cradle of Filth, some Lacrimosa (because of all the theatrics), Nefilim and The Cult (maybe far fetched but because of all the catchy melodies and hooks).

Digging: Fotheringay - Fotheringay

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2018


19577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, you know in that Katatonia doco they talk about how obssessed they were with Fields of the Nephilim and Sisters of Mercy (as well as Slowdive) when they were going through the Tonight's Decision phase.



If this sounds anything like it I think I might dig it.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2018


11936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Overall, I wouldn't say that this one sounds a lot like Tonight's Decision besides some guitar leads and the bleak atmosphere that do bring to mind that album.



I'm sure you remember, but it's funny how a lot of metal bands back then suddenly discovered Sisters of Mercy, Fields of the Nephilim and Depeche Mode after Paradise Lost released One Second.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2018


19577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha yeah, actually "One Second" pulled me out of metal and made me check a lot of other stuff during that time. Paradise Lost got a lot of shit for that album but hell take me, it's an amazing record.

SpiritCrusher2
January 30th 2018


6269 Comments


hm.. this one didn't really grab me. seems like they're starting to oversimplify the music. which would be okay if it was memorable or atmospheric, but yea, I didn't really feel much. will give it another shot

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2018


11936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup. I can definitely understand that the mainstream approach towards songwriting is not for everyone. But with time you'll probably find at least some memorable moments.



"Haha yeah, actually "One Second" pulled me out of metal and made me check a lot of other stuff during that time. Paradise Lost got a lot of shit for that album but hell take me, it's an amazing record."

Absolutely. One Second made me check Depeche Mode simply because I wanted to know who were the guys who destroyed the Draconian Times recipe haha. Back then I only enjoyed 2-3 tracks out of One Second but with time it really grew on me.

EvoHavok
January 30th 2018


7789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, this isn't much like Tonight's Decision.

Although I prefer most of Paradise Lost's discog over One Second, I never had any issues with it, probably because I always enjoyed Depeche Mode and I grew with modern accessible goth rock.

Digging: Paradise Lost - Obsidian

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2018


19577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Of course, as much as I love One Second, nothing they've done/will do can top Draconian Times. Just my opinion.

Croojerr
January 30th 2018


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

these guys can write music. really cool album

Itwasthatwas
January 30th 2018


2865 Comments


I like that these guys have brought back a sense of fun to their music, especially their guitar work, over the past couple of albums. I feel like that's something I haven't gotten enough of in the '10s.

I liked The Children of the Night a lot better though. This one is simplified a little too much past my tastes.

DoofusWainwright
January 30th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The sound is better than the songs

cvlts
January 30th 2018


9668 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

man, i want to dig this so bad but the sound is just not my thing.

kris.
January 30th 2018


15506 Comments


yeh this is great

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2018


8749 Comments


Just read a review where this album is linked to the final In Solitude album.

Need to check.

Great review man.

Digging: Muspellzheimr - Muspellzheimr

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2018


11936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Voi. Need to check the final In Solitude album myself. Heard good things about it.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2018


19577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After one pass, really great gothic metal album, guitar work on this thing is so good. I wish it had some clean vocals hooks here and there though.



Edit: Just when you said this is not gothic metal lol. But you know what I mean manosg.

BlackLlama
January 31st 2018


2178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Totally digging this album. I've been following the band since seeing them open for Ghost a few years back. They gave off a really, really cool sleaze-rock kinda vibe in person. Like an un-dead Destruction era GN'R.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 31st 2018


11936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Absolutely Dewi. This is not your typical Paradise Lost-gothic metal but at its core, hell yeah it's gothic.



edit: Great description, Llama.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2018


13898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Horror is a cool jam, need to check their latest works more closely.



Enjoyable reading as usual manosg.

Digging: Old Man Gloom - Seminar VIII: Light Of Meaning



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy