Typhoon (USA-OR) Offerings
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheFantasticDangler
January 19th 2018


2050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh wow, bgille, i thought you just meant you didn't like the whole plastic cover/slide out vinyl cases deal. Mine did not come damaged thank god.



wheres the love for Coverings, fuck that song is gorgeous, but my favs are def Empiricist, Unusual, and Remember.

Kompys2000
January 19th 2018


3734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OMG yeah Coverings is lovely, top 3 for me.



My ranking as of now is probably:



Remember

Rorschach

Coverings

Unusual

Empiricist

Darker

Wake

Algernon

Chiaroscuro

Bergeron

Ariadne

Beachtowel

Sleep/Afterparty

Mansion

ABjordanMM
January 20th 2018


1723 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Mansion is best get out here

bgillesp
January 20th 2018


7176 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I love them all but Ariadne is what gets me the most. That background violin is deadly

anatelier
January 20th 2018


3201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great album, need to read the lyrics as i listen cos i can't make them all out



few minor issues, i don't like the female vocals and i hate how consistently wet the snare sounds. i guess the latter contributes to the sense of mental deterioration but eh

Digging: Ian William Craig - Red Sun Through Smoke

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2018


18149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is ridiculously good yeah

bgillesp
January 20th 2018


7176 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@Dangler, I mentioned it in an email to them and it sounds like they'll send me a new one. I just have to send pictures and point out where it was in the cardboard packaging.

TheFantasticDangler
January 20th 2018


2050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah thats good then

matbla00
January 21st 2018


442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What a great review! I think it is the most polymathic one I have so far seen on sput, well done. Like really, compared to what I usually see here, it's fucking astral (not that there are no good reviews, that is not the point). I listened to the album only once; so i will not critique until i give it some thought.

BeyondCosby
January 23rd 2018


2728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm sure that this sounds nit-picky, and I'm sure that no one is going to respond or read this comment because... who gives a fuck? But there are two things that bug me about your review.



You have this beautiful, dense piece of writing, and then you use "fucking". I know that seems small but it's purposeless and actually, in my opinion, leaves a sour aftertaste. It isn't used to contrast the beautiful with something disgusting, it's used for emphasis but your prose is strong everywhere else it feels forced.



Also, the use of "idiots" to describe other people attempting to write about this album comes across as pretentious. Again, you're a strong writer but that line just sits so weird and it's so unnecessary.

verdant
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2018


2431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hello! i give a fuck!! thanks for your comment : ) i agree i need to be a bit more careful with swearing in reviews. it'd feel a bit disingenuous to change them on this review but i'll try and be more reserved in the future



gracias mat!

Piglet
January 24th 2018


7912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't think its distasteful using "fucking" as an intensifier. So long as its used in a context which begs for it, because there aren't many others which are as effective. "Bloody" maybe, but yeaaah nah

BeyondCosby
January 24th 2018


2728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have no problem with the use of "fucking" as long as it matches the prose. But his is so good that another word might fit there better.

Project
January 24th 2018


4112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"i don't like the female vocals and i hate how consistently wet the snare sounds"



i love both of those things here and I normally hate wet snares... but yeah this is definitely a "listen with Genius open" kind of album



also the ranking that put Sleep/Afterparty last shocks me, Afterparty is incredible on its own.

Kompys2000
January 24th 2018


3734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah but the whole middle third is just so sparse, and the first part is nothing mindblowing either. I mean obviously I'm just nitpicking, I like all the songs here, but I'd say on the whole it's one of the weaker tracks, despite its strong finish.

Lucman
January 26th 2018


3956 Comments


Incredible review. This sounds like it'd be up my alley. With all the praise it's getting I'm excited to give it a spin!

Digging: Pure Reason Revolution - Eupnea

Daedus
January 27th 2018


218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Literally teared up during Chiaroscuro.



Of course Typhoon would make an album focused on my deepest fear and make me love it.

Kompys2000
January 27th 2018


3734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ngl you guys the Spectrum Pulse review of this hurts my soul a little.

Daedus
January 27th 2018


218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with some of his criticisms but the dude has a weird hate-boner for the band that bleeds through all of his analysis.

Anthracks
January 28th 2018


6375 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

so fucking boring holy shit

Digging: Molested Divinity - Unearthing The Void



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy