When We Land Introvert's Plight
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
January 4th 2018


27528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Yeah it certainly isn't a release to get your adrenaline going, but that shouldn't be your expectation going in. This is meant to be a smooth, easy listen with some interesting stuff going on vocally/production-wise. It's basic in its premise but extremely well executed imo.

Digging: mewithoutYou - (Untitled) E.P.

Dewinged
January 4th 2018


10855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Don't you know how the story goes?"

I'd defy destiny to try some of that gingerbread.



Sow, i dig the production but not the vocals, they sound very dead and flat to me.

Digging: Tomberlin - At Weddings

Papa Universe
January 4th 2018


16639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're a brave man.

Digging: VRCVS - VRCVS

McTime50
January 4th 2018


400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good release to kick off the first week of the year.

Digging: Foxing - Nearer My God

oneups
January 5th 2018


56 Comments


Excellent writing as always, Sowing. It seems I have to check these guys out. I appreciate the idea of strictly underground reviews for a year; I'm stoked to see what comes of it. I'm trying to churn out a review at some point soon, I think it's been a couple years at this point since I've written anything of merit.

Pos'd, of course.

Dewinged
January 5th 2018


10855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How did u pos a staff review?

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 5th 2018


27528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

"Sow, i dig the production but not the vocals, they sound very dead and flat to me."

I would have agreed with you at first, but Baxter's vocals have grown on me. They have sort of a sturdy, rural feel to them. He's definitely not that versatile, which is part of why his wife lays some vocals down, but I think he gets the job done and at times goes above & beyond.



"Really good release to kick off the first week of the year."

Glad you enjoyed it! It was definitely a pleasant surprise for me.



"Excellent writing as always, Sowing. It seems I have to check these guys out. I appreciate the idea of strictly underground reviews for a year; I'm stoked to see what comes of it. I'm trying to churn out a review at some point soon, I think it's been a couple years at this point since I've written anything of merit."

Thanks man, that means a lot! Def let me know when you write something, I'd be keen on checking it out.



"How did u pos a staff review?"

In your mind



DungeonBoy
January 5th 2018


4427 Comments


https://www.sputnikmusic.com/soundoff.php?albumid=264515

umm.. this band used the same album cover as my band.

Who wore it better?

https://wecallthiscourage.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Skeletonwitch - Devouring Radiant Light

Sinternet
January 5th 2018


16933 Comments


ah another underwhelming indie band who no one will ever hear from again hyped courtesy of sowing himself

Digging: mewithoutYou - [untitled] e.p.

Hopelust
January 5th 2018


3075 Comments


Shit, Dungeonboy. That's fucked up. Who's the artist responsible?

Digging: Hopesfall - Arbiter

DungeonBoy
January 5th 2018


4427 Comments


lol our drummer's wife does a lot of graphic design stuff for work and I'm pretty sure it came from some purchased stock image pack. Glad we both thought it was a cool looking wall.

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 5th 2018


27528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

That's hilarious, you must have similar taste in art. I love it personally, so good choice!

ProjectFreak
January 5th 2018


2900 Comments


I was about to write this band off, and then Hi My Son hit me. Got me again Sowing

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 5th 2018


27528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Yeah that song is so personal, I really like it. Don't write them off quite yet if you have the patience to listen 2-3 times. The guy's vocals really grow on you...they did for me, at least.

oneups
January 5th 2018


56 Comments


"How did u pos a staff review?"

I guess I facebook liked it rather than posing it and didn't realize the difference at the time. I figured it was the new version or something, haha. I've never been too deep into that stuff I guess. I read a lot of reviews to find new music on here and enjoy the community a lot. I have like 7 or 800 album ratings to help me see what I've dug on over the years what's stood the test of time but I honestly don't comment all that often or mess with review pos'ing too much.

Also, will do Sowing I'll be sure to send you a shout or something when I do.

Mardorien
January 6th 2018


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huh, sounds interesting. I am currently listening, and this seems really good so far. I'd have to say, two tracks in it feels about three tracks in and I'm not quite sure why...

anatelier
January 6th 2018


2314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

unprecedented production quality? this hyperbole turns me off straight away

also how appropriate is it that the album art is a stock image? lmao

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 6th 2018


27528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Yeah unprecedented was a pretty strong adjective, I think I meant to say unexpected. I'll edit it soon.

conesmoke
January 7th 2018


5840 Comments


Extroverts might

JesperL
January 8th 2018


261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is pleasant, but needs a few listens for the songs to really get memorable.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy