Taylor Swift Reputation
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
July 11th 2019


33618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I buy all her stuff usually so I'm happy to continue supporting her

Digging: Waxahatchee - Saint Cloud

nolerthebowler
July 11th 2019


4389 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it’s not really a matter of whether the songs are good. It’s that the songs are hers that she spent her personal time writing, and she fought hard for ownership, yet still lost all rights. Really sad.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/music/2019/jun/30/taylor-swift-scooter-braun-tumblr-post

I’d read Taylor’s statement on it as well

https://www.google.com/amp/s/taylorswift.tumblr.com/post/185958366550/for-years-i-asked-pleaded-for-a-chance-to-own-my/amp

Digging: Neutral Bling Hotel - In My G4 Over Da Sea

Lucman
July 11th 2019


3936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Man, I can't imagine how that feels. To lose your rightful ownership on something you worked hard on and poured yourself into.

Digging: Red (USA) - Declaration

luci
August 19th 2019


12330 Comments


pitchfork just reviewed all her older albums... did sowing take over the site?
they gave red a 9.0, so probably not :p

luci
August 19th 2019


12330 Comments


real talk, i found the reviews engaging and insightful

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


26510 Comments


yeah i really enjoyed them as well

Digging: Malfet - The Glimmering

theBoneyKing
August 19th 2019


18515 Comments


pitchfork just reviewed all her older albums... did sowing take over the site?

No, Condé Nast did. :-P I’m all for a reappraisal and am glad that “serious” music critics have stopped ignoring the mainstream as they did in the 00s and early 10s, but I can’t help but feel this is a bit much.

luci
August 19th 2019


12330 Comments


A curious detail: Vogue called them out in a recent interview with Swift: "I was reminded that Pitchfork did not review Taylor Swift’s 1989 but did review Ryan Adams’s cover album of Taylor Swift’s 1989."

Both sites are owned by Conde Naste. hmmmmm

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2019


17896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I’m with boney a bit but also glad they’re not totally relitigating swift in a reactionary way to map her so-called opportunism onto a political schema or whatever. I (somewhat) know the lady who wrote the scathing review for “you need to calm down” and she’s cool IRL but has been a...well, some sort of force for pitchfork’s voice. Way hella woke, and I feared that any future appraisal of Taylor Swift, who is great, would follow suit. Uncharitably you could say that whatever they give the new album will bear this out and that she’s uncool NOW as opposed to THEN, eg when these albums came out, but yah I’m glad they’re sort of owning up to the fact that she’s dope lmao



FWIW



TS: 6.5

F: 8.5

SN: 8

R: 7

1989: 7 (yeah I need to up my rating)

R^2: 7.5

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2019


17896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Basically I get that it’s sort of funny for them to be reviewing TS but we crossed that bridge a long time ago and at least they did it right. I guess

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2019


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fearless over speak now? No way

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 19th 2019


33618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

1989 is my favorite of hers followed by Speak Now

JoeTex
August 19th 2019


1115 Comments


netflix concert worth watching?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2019


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it's great

pizzamachine
August 19th 2019


14252 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yup, it's entertaining

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2019


17896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fearless is her masterstroke to me, but I wouldn’t live on th difference between it and SN (is that a thing people say like that? “Live on the difference”)

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2019


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no album with "hey stephen" on it can be a masterstroke

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2019


17896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

“Hey Stephen” is definitely like the simplest song conceivable but it’s good

klap
Staff Reviewer
August 20th 2019


12259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey stephen rules

Digging: Magdalena Bay - A Little Rhythm and a Wicked Feeling

Storm In A Teacup
August 20th 2019


27259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

that's a pretty big drop off yo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy