Converge The Dusk in Us
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Demon of the Fall
December 7th 2017


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's a few I've added to the database, others I haven't bothered with (yet, if at all). Reviewing them is another matter entirely. I managed to get someone else to review an old favourite of mine because I didn't feel confident enough, sort of regretting that decision.

Digging: Deathspell Omega - Veritas Diaboli Manet in Aeternum

bloc
December 7th 2017


45220 Comments


RYM for the ratings, Sputnik for the people

Digging: Flotsam and Jetsam - Doomsday for the Deceiver

Demon of the Fall
December 7th 2017


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sput for both. Hang on, I do like ratings, tell me more...

bloc
December 7th 2017


45220 Comments


It appears that RYM has a much larger userbase, for one.

Therefore, I feel like the average ratings are more credible because the average is coming from a larger pool of people, especially since all the "classics" have literally thousands upon thousands of ratings. And wait until you see an album bolded blue. Apparently that means the album is in the top 10,000 releases of all time. I like analyzing that kind of stuff, especially for newer albums. It's cool to figure out what the algorithm is, because it takes into account the number of ratings too, not just a high average rating.

However, I would also say RYM is a tough crowd to please. Sputnik will shit on some albums, but RYM takes it even further. Sometimes they can be a bit harsh imo.

Demon of the Fall
December 7th 2017


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

From what I've heard they sound a little more elitist & that's an abhorrent attitude. It happens here as well but usually it's diluted enough by all the level-headed & optimistic music lovers who generally try & be positive.

JS19
December 7th 2017


6056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For a dude you aren't half interested in my sex life six... I'm not sure I look enough like a 14 yr old girl for you though so I'll burst that bubble before it gets awkward



As RYM goes idk it can be the difference of a few points between an amazing album and a meh album, and the larger and fussier userbase makes it sort of more difficult to discern what's worth listening to

Digging: Sleeping at Last - Atlas - Space 2

Demon of the Fall
December 7th 2017


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'I'm not sure I look enough like a 14 yr old girl for you though'



Bravo.

JS19
December 7th 2017


6056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was into it

bloc
December 7th 2017


45220 Comments


"From what I've heard they sound a little more elitist & that's an abhorrent attitude. It happens here as well but usually it's diluted enough by all the level-headed & optimistic music lovers who generally try & be positive."

Yeah I would agree they are much more elitist. Also, unless you're active in the RYM forums, then the raters don't have a voice or anything, so it makes Sputnik seem much more friendly and human in that regard, which is what draws me here.

"As RYM goes idk it can be the difference of a few points between an amazing album and a meh album, and the larger and fussier userbase makes it sort of more difficult to discern what's worth listening to"

Tell me about it. I think anything above a 3.3 on RYM is worth a listen. On Sputnik, it's more like a 3.5 or 3.6 haha


bloc
December 7th 2017


45220 Comments


Ah that's good man, you can resist the peer pressure haha

Demon of the Fall
December 7th 2017


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My threshold on here for metal albums is 3.8 ish unless I’m already into the band, if they haven’t got any release around that mark I’m not interested. I’ll become less fussy in time but that’s my ‘starting point’... plenty of 4+ stuff out there I still haven’t heard.



Eventually I’ll find my niche(s) & then I can lower the average.

Confessed2005
December 7th 2017


4002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mine is 3.5 usually. Although there are some bands I like where albums averages are lower.

bloc
December 7th 2017


45220 Comments


Damn 3.8 on here or RYM is a godsend haha

But yeah I see what you mean. It makes total sense to start with the critically acclaimed stuff and then moving down from there.

SpiritCrusher2
December 7th 2017


5782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there are some albums that are severely underrated on sput, like Lurker of Chalice has 3.7 on rym which woul translate to like a 4 here, but instead it has a 3.6 (it got better over the past couple of years, I think it used to be a lot lower). that's the problem with a smaller tighter community sput has got, it's more prone to bandwagoning, positive or negative.



but yea, RYM for the ratings, Sputnik for the people [2]



Demon of the Fall
December 8th 2017


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not a slave to the formula bloc, I read between the lines with At The Gates' 'Red Sky' & decided the 3.6 average was an anomaly. Pleased I gave it a shot because it's probably in my top 15 metal albums now.

bloc
December 8th 2017


45220 Comments


Oh I think the Red Sky average is a bit too generous heh heh

StarlessCore
December 10th 2017


5616 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

who gonna be at vitus tnnnn

Digging: Potence - L'Amour Au Temps De La Peste

XfingTheSullen
December 10th 2017


4130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really love the title track off this, one of the saddest and most gripping songs I've heard. The other songs not so much though, unfortunately. Still I don't have the heart to give this anything lower than a 4.0 for some reason

AdolfChrist
December 10th 2017


13546 Comments


more like The Dick In Us

Digging: Swarms - Black Chapel Sun

MayhemWithMercy
December 10th 2017


6079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AdolfChrist more like HitlerJesus



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy