Propagandhi Victory Lap
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
gschwen
October 8th 2017


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not heard a Propaghandi record before; my initial thoughts are that there are a handful of track worth spinning on this. It was better than I anticipated. I don't know that it will get too many more listens beyond the couple that I gave it. "Lower Order" stuck out to me as a great track. I think it's a solid 3.5-- Worth a listen.

Artuma
October 8th 2017


29175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sounds like a propagandhi album that's for sure

johnnyblaze
October 8th 2017


3001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Todd's songs rule.

BlackTaxi2d
October 8th 2017


216 Comments


when someone offers constructive criticism of your writing, saying "why dont you write your own" is beyond childish. its like "I know you are but what am I"

I expected more out of a contributor reviewer tbh. now I know why the review was trash. the reviewer is insecure. inb4 my 5's



Digging: Intervals - The Way Forward

Satellite
October 8th 2017


25690 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i have to agree. that's a shitty, lazy, childish retort. by that same extremely flawed logic none of us should review or rate music unless we're musicians ourselves. fuck outta here with that nonsense.

just keep in mind that contrib/staff positions typically have much more to do with quantity than quality.

note: i have nothing against this review/reviewer myself.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2017


13686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@blacktaxi



Lol your "criticism" wasn't criticism. It was along the lines of "your review is poor because you don't mention the female guitarist or dissect the lyrics."



I always take criticism on board, and always correct or take things into account. But you just sound sour because I didn't include the aspects you wanted.



And I understand the role of staff on here Satellite; which is why I put a lot of time and effort into my reviews.

onionbubs
October 9th 2017


6998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i didn't write the review and i'm the one who suggested you to write your own lol. it's not necessarily bad advice

Digging: Kevin Devine - Bubblegum

Piripichotes
October 10th 2017


424 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Oh boy. I bet you're the type that thinks Rick and Morty is bad now because of female writers"





C'mon Trebor, don't go all SJW on me now...



I loved pickle Rick!

and the album really sucks IMO, I don't know if it was o wasn't her fault (most certainly wasn't since they played some of these songs live before she came to the band), I remember tho, a cool song being played live that didn't make it into the album.



botb
October 10th 2017


11049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Liked failed states much more than this record but I do appreciate the fact it’s much more straight forward melodic punk like their older albums

Ebola
October 10th 2017


2872 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The melodies on here are killer

tellah
October 19th 2017


562 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's no Supporting Caste but it's still a fun time

Cygnatti
October 23rd 2017


32206 Comments


guess ihave to listen to this then

Digging: Ildjarn - Strength and Anger

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2017


13686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

“Letters to a Young Anus” riffs hard.

johnnyblaze
October 24th 2017


3001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

BE CAREFUL HOW MUCH YOU REVEAL



Ya, that song fucking rules. My top 3 from this are: failed imagineer, letters to a young anus, and cop just out of frame. Album grows.



DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 25th 2017


13686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dunno about "Failed Imagineer", I think it's one of the weaker tracks here. Still solid mind you.

jmh886
November 3rd 2017


1867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man propagandhi rule. they're punk. they're metal. good musicians. passionate. cheers propagandhi!

OscarCotton
November 25th 2017


62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They were on an exponential curve in quality from Today's Empire, Tomorro's Ashes to Failed States, which is my second favorite album by Prop. This one isn't as urgent, poseur-slapping, melodically diverse (only one Todd song and it's not one of his ragers nor his melodic complaints such as Cut Into The Earth and Bringer of Greater Things and Life At Disconnect which aren't the straight up hardcore songs he comes up with that were oh-so perfect.



I'll still go see them live, but the fact Todd's voice is fucked forever hence the sole song and the weaker voice...not sure I'll hear Hadron Collision or Rattan Cane anytime soon.



Also, did I count right, zero solos? One of the highlights of Supporting Caste was the solo trading between Chris and the Beave, like at the end of The Flensing of Sandor Katz.



They don't got to convince me politically anymore, i'm there and I would be a vegetarian (I eat white meat twice a week, red meat once a month) due to all the pollution and environmental destruction this unnatural farming we got going in this GMO'd (mostly in the US, but GMO crops get into Canada from pollen and bees and then really piss off farmers in western Canada where they're from. I love Chris Hannah though, that guy is me with talent to play stuff other (although not excluding) hardcore punk, I can't shred for shit...amd I missed that, the 2 albums with the Beave had a lot of it so I guess Sulynn adds in a touch I'm not sure I'm ready for yet.



Although, Letter To A Young Anus is great and I see it fit on Today's Empires or even their split with I Spy in 1995.



I still intent on buying it, but please, I hope they have kick-ass, informational inserts like they always had unlike in Failed States...that album rips so much, but the mood of the band was one of a fucking with the man while knowing we're likely doomed and maybe in this lifetime (speaking for them and the kid who bought HTCE and LTMR (along with Lagwagon Trashed and Pennywise - Unknown Road...when melodic hardcore punk the west coast way (7 Seconds have another way of doing melodic hardcore...and I wouldn't call them western even if in Nevada, they likely had to tour a hell lot in their days past 86, Reno doesn't have a scene, but I digress).

RobertZDar
November 25th 2017


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You seem like the kind of person who would explain how a watch is made if asked what time it is.

johnnyblaze
November 25th 2017


3001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

(Todd has two songs here)

newvoid
November 26th 2017


1 Comments


I don't like this nearly as much as I liked Failed States. And as someone else already mentioned, if Hannah feels so bad about being white and hearing his own voice, why don't they recruit a black guy to front the band? As if an African American/Asian/Native American, etc are going to have anything all that different to say? Heck, why did Hannah bother having white children?? The white PC guilt has gotten to some absurd heights, and I say that as someone on the opposite of the right "side" of the political spectrum.

I miss Todd's rager songs and the path they were on. Overall too sentimental and melodic for my tastes. Everything about this album, from the subject matter to most of the music seems simple and lacks the nuance of post Less Talk lyrics. I can't seem myself returning to the majority of the material on this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy