The National Sleep Well Beast
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Demon of the Fall
July 4th 2019


16172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The National’s averages are about right, relatively anyway & also scaled to allow for Sput’s inflation. Having said that I’m sure Boxer was a 4.4 once, which would’ve been fitting, as it remains their best.

Digging: ISIS - Wavering Radiant

theBoneyKing
July 5th 2019


18833 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The opener here is underrated like crazy imo


Eh idk about that, that’s one of the songs I see most commonly cited as people’s favorite. I love it but personally it ranks near the bottom here for me.

CosmicPie
July 5th 2019


2475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an excellent album... but more so, it highlights how amazing HV and TWFM are. A little contrast in the discog. I still haven't made up my mind about their latest....

Larkinhill
July 10th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On my first listen and only halfway in, but this is fantastic so far. Walk It Back is incredible. Day I Die is awesome and a bit different for them — slightly generic but it works. Opener is meh.

benkim
July 10th 2019


3892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can see this becoming at least a 4.5 soon. I revisted recently and it's growing so hard.

Digging: Leprous - Coal

benkim
July 10th 2019


3892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I honestly never see the opener talked about that much, Boney

Larkinhill
July 10th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It’s a little uneventful. It’s pretty but not particularly memorable. I Should Live In Salt is a similar type of opener, but much better and more memorable.



Yeah this is on par with the others for me. Might even become my second fav after TWFM but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.



Born to Beg is meh. I actually like Turtleneck! Surprised by all the backlash considering so many people haven’t wanted them to do some more energetic rock oriented songs like on SSFDL and Alligator. It is a bit jarring though — definitely not slotted in the right place. Tbh I think there’s a much better way to arrange these songs but not sure how yet.

Larkinhill
July 10th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First four and last four are definitely the best here. Sags a little in the middle but still damn good. Just pale in comparison because the other songs are so great.

Clumseee
July 10th 2019


1540 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Walk It Back and Born To Beg are my least favourites on here for sure.

Deathconscious
July 10th 2019


24632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Empire Line and I'll Still Destroy You should have been cut, imo.

Digging: Defeated Sanity - The Sanguinary Impetus

Sunnyvale
July 10th 2019


1477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Born To Beg and I'll Still Destroy You are my favorites on here

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2019


25664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll Still Destroy You is an easy highlight

Digging: Everything But the Girl - Walking Wounded

Sunnyvale
July 10th 2019


1477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep, it was by far my early favorite from this one, and still would probably make it into my top ten tracks by the band. Born To Beg, on the other hand, has grown on me a lot over time.

Larkinhill
July 10th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sign of a great album: everyone has different favorites.



Only listened once but I love Day I Die, Walk it Back, System and Guilty Party. Born to Beg and Destroy You kinda bored me but one listen isn’t really enough to form much of an opinion with The National.wi



I need to re-listen to Gym and Carin. Similar to TWFM, there are so many slow songs on the back half that they tend to just blend together the first listen or two. Takes a few listens before they really take form and show their identity.

Larkinhill
July 11th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’ll Still Destroy You is stunning and became a top 10 National song for me. Barely noticed it first listen.

benkim
July 11th 2019


3892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The only song from here I don't get at all is the closer. Also, Turtleneck is amazing!

Larkinhill
July 11th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Turtleneck is solid, agreed! Only listened to the closer once and it didn’t do too much for me, but it’s obvious that it’s the type of song that grows (like every other song by these guys lol).

Larkinhill
July 13th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Am I the only one who likes the 1st half more than the 2nd half? Majority seems to be the opposite.



This is only after 3 listens and is liable to change. The 2nd half seems more like a grower.

DoofDoof
July 13th 2019


8200 Comments


I split the album into thirds

The 1st third is best

Then the 3rd third is next best

The middle third is worst



Larkinhill
July 13th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That’s exactly how I’m feeling about it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy