Botanist Collective: The Shape of He to Come
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
September 5th 2017


64303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rips so hard, def better than the previous one.

Digging: Azelisassath - In Total Contempt of All Life

Asdfp277
September 5th 2017


19331 Comments


a review already, damn

dbizzles
September 5th 2017


12522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review.



Otrebor is going to mostly be releasing solo projects as far as I know, so I'm interested to see how any more collectives sound or stack up compared to this.

This release caught me off guard; I feel like he has been getting better and better starting with Flora (Split last year with Oskoreien was fucking brilliant if you haven't heard it) but this is a welcome breath of fresh air.

Can't wait for my vinyl copy.

Hawks
September 5th 2017


64303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oskoreien's new album is worth everyone's time too, really great stuff and way better than the s/t.

dbizzles
September 5th 2017


12522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh shit, didn't know he had one. His half of the split last year was fantastic.

Egarran
September 6th 2017


7849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I mean Alcest isn't really metal either but I'm pretty sure they're there"



What, Alcest is definitely metal.

MA thinks Botanist isn't, because they don't use electricity as much as other metal bands.

Digging: A Forest of Stars - Grave Mounds and Grave Mistakes

Hawks
September 6th 2017


64303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Idk man this sounds pretty metal to me. I mean it's pretty experimental, but still.



Sweet dig too Egarran. m/

Egarran
September 6th 2017


7849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed, but they have certain amusing standards as to what can be called metal.

Sevengill
September 7th 2017


8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this band is my new favorite thing

nice review, pos

Hawks
September 7th 2017


64303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I gotta check their first 3 albums hard.

Sevengill
September 7th 2017


8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Avantgarde's put out some bangers over the last few months -- Enisum, Sojourner, Wode, Progenie Terre, Nyss, Cloran, and this are all sweet. makin' me look good.

Egarran
September 7th 2017


7849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You have some street cred to spend now.



Btw check Hammer of Botany next.

dbizzles
September 7th 2017


12522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Btw check Hammer of Botany next. [2]

dbizzles
September 9th 2017


12522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wish this had a more ceremonious ending; kinda just piddles out. Having said that, The Reconciliation of Nature and Man is certainly the most interesting metal song I've heard this year and quite possibly the best.

Some fucking evil Swamp Thing shit going on here.

Egarran
September 10th 2017


7849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Reconciliation gets awesomely scary.

quetzal
September 11th 2017


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In a year crowded with amazing albums, this one stands out. I love Bezaelith's vocals, she's great in Lotus Thief too. Didn't expect Botanist to make an album that sounds like this.



Also metal-archives is a joke. Between the Buried and Me aren't on there which is insane.

quetzal
September 11th 2017


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"MA thinks Botanist isn't, because they don't use electricity as much as other metal bands."



No, it's because they use a hammered dulcimer instead of guitar. They still use magnetic pickups on the hammered dulcimer so Botanist is as electric as any metal band.





Sevengill
September 11th 2017


8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol guitars

BlackwaterPork
September 11th 2017


4379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds pretty metal to me [2]

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

Egarran
September 11th 2017


7849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, I stand corrected. Thanks, quetzal.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy