Paradise Lost Medusa
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2017


11745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you des. Great dig!

Digging: Cellar Darling - The Spell

Groundking
September 3rd 2017


1289 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm listening through Spotify, but is it just me or is there no bottom end to the mix? Almost as if there's no bass being played and the whole thing just feels like there's no punch to it. Really disappointing.

Digging: Capstan - Restless Heart, Keep Running

Pizzabakker5
September 3rd 2017


69 Comments


I don't think I've ever agreed with a review more. You voiced exactly why I do like the new album, but also why I don't like it as much as The Plague Within and what's lacking.

Good read.

EvoHavok
September 3rd 2017


7701 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They actually gave the bass a tiny bit more attention than usual, the third track especially.

Digging: Lacuna Coil - Black Anima

Sabrutin
September 3rd 2017


6440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great stuff Mano! As a lover of their death side, I'm loving this album a lot. Fearless Sky makes me so happy, and I have to say that in the context of the album even the singles work pretty well and so I'm now addicted to The Longest Winter. Good stuff in the bonus tracks too, pretty criminal to think that some people may not be listening to them!



I wasn't 100% sold on the harsh vocals on TPW but I dig them a lot here

manosg
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2017


11745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you enjoyed the review, Pizza. I actually jammed The Plague Within a couple of times after this one and this one felt more monolithic which is natural given that PL wanted a more doom infused sound. Personally, I prefer The Plague Within significantly more than this album.



Cheers Sab! Yeah both bonus tracks are pretty good and agreed, guys who prefer their doom/death side will probably love this one.

Maco097
September 3rd 2017


3116 Comments


Plague Within is better

cageofman
September 3rd 2017


121 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

One of my all time favoruite bands but i actually thought 'Beneath Broken Earth' was well below the best work, so im nervous about this new album.



I seem to be one of few who thought their best work was self tiled - In Requim - FDUDU era



Because it got heavier again but retained great melody and hooks too.



Ill definitely get this album, but i dont feel im going to enjoy it as much.



I dont think ill see it as a 'come back' as for me they dont NEED to come back from anything. They never left. Every album has been awesome



And like i said, i dont see heavier sludgier etc as automatically being better, i dont get it.



Willie
Moderator
September 4th 2017


17873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm with you. Symbol of Life might be my favorite Paradise Lost album to listen to from start to finish.

Digging: Leprous - Pitfalls

StormChaser
September 4th 2017


528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm just appreciating the fact that once again these lads release a more than solid outing after so much time. Just goes to prove there are good bands, excellent bands and then there is Paradise Lost

Groundking
September 4th 2017


1289 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm liking it, it's just not quite as good as previous work and not as many strong hooks, still good though and might grow on me.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2017


16802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad to see this fell on your hands manosg, great review. As a huge Draconian Times fan, the two tracks you quoted are indeed the ones that brought me back to the good PL days. I don't dig the growls, but I understand where they come from. If the band keeps going full circle, we should be 1 or 2 albums away from a new DT lol

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

cageofman
September 5th 2017


121 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Willie - also love Symbol of Life, was my album of the year in 2002. Gees i feel old now haha

ButteryBiscuitBass
September 5th 2017


11449 Comments


Great review, will check this out.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2017


11745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Buttery!



Cheers Dewi. I seriously believe that these guys might surprise us with their next release. I don't know if it will directly remind us one of their older LP's but I can see them going towards a different direction than Medusa and The Plague Within.

EvoHavok
September 5th 2017


7701 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed, they sorta have to now.

Sabrutin
September 5th 2017


6440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh man I'm loving this so much. I think there's still plenty of melody and memorability in every song. Gods of Ancient seriously rips.



Holmes said that he always tries to sing in many styles to see what fits the music and he doesn't exclude the possibility of making a very melodic album next

Egarran
September 5th 2017


13258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a bit worrying that you're already speculating on the next album. Nothing I read makes me want to listen to this.

Evok
September 5th 2017


7746 Comments


Album is really good tho

Egarran
September 5th 2017


13258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I'm just afraid of disappointment. Also, after the dry first half of this year, suddenly there's too many albums I want to hear.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy