Gang of Youths Go Farther in Lightness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
September 6th 2017


23487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

:O that comment. My heart heart.



Downloading

VaxXi
September 6th 2017


4135 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

its australlian springsteen with strings



its a pretty good time

Piglet
September 6th 2017


7450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the drumming feels like a heartbeat in all its rhythms somehow i kind of love it

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2017


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

drumming on this is 6/5

Piglet
September 6th 2017


7450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i may as well 5 this for how much i've listened to it alone

Gyromania
September 6th 2017


23487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

16 songs long? Fuck me. Sincerely doubt I'll make it through it all in one listen

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2017


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

thats what i said : /

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2017


25040 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

a handful of them are just interludes but yeah it's way too long

personally I trim it down to 12 songs but I'll let you listen and make that determination

Satellite
September 6th 2017


25667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this still might be a 5 for me eventually, but it's way too long. another thing they share in common w/ titus andronicus.

Digging: Sturgill Simpson - A Sailor's Guide To Earth

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2017


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

nothin wrong about an album being long if its all rly good imo



WatchItExplode
September 6th 2017


5002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That middle late stretch allows some time for introspection. I've come to appreciate the change in tone.

RadicalEd
September 7th 2017


8582 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mhh. I think this is pretty uneven and definitely too long. Some of the individual songs are amazing though. Still, a rather low 3.5 for me.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 7th 2017


5904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"rather low 3.5"



http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/image.php?u=1026392&dateline=1504804062

Digging: St. Vincent - MASSEDUCTION

BigHans
September 8th 2017


28549 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sowing I knew you would like this as soon as I heard it. I feel a totally undeserved amount of pride discovering this band like 4 days before this record dropped. By the time it did, I was completely obsessed with them.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2017


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I love you

BigHans
September 8th 2017


28549 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

lol thanks Hogan. Time to jam River

dimsim3478
September 9th 2017


7700 Comments


i was listening to this on the bus and laughed out loud when david dropped a fuckin GANG GREEN reference holy shit didnt see that coming

Evokaphile
September 25th 2017


5974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh man this album is seriously clearing the cobwebs out of my soul rn

Digging: Chaos Moon - Eschaton Mémoire

tombits
October 16th 2017


3500 Comments


Honestly shocked to see such a glowing response to this band, I've caught a song here and there and wrote them off as another Triple J-manufactured paint by numbers band. But the Sputnik people have spoken, gotta give 'em another chance!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy