Gang of Youths Go Farther in Lightness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2017


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Achilles is gr8 lyrically

WatchItExplode
September 5th 2017


5002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean most of this is

Drifter
September 5th 2017


7092 Comments


So is Ben Parker from Nosferatu D2

YoYoMancuso
September 5th 2017


12715 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is brilliant

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2017


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

get the train back rolling

GreyShadow
September 5th 2017


1844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I wish Achilles had more of a build. Still a good track though

GreyShadow
September 5th 2017


1844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i lied, the lyrics make it pretty outstanding

Green Baron
September 5th 2017


24102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The strings are what make Achilles stand out, that and the French mumbling

DeadBoyz
September 6th 2017


11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The "French mumbling" on Achilles is an old recording of Albert Camus' philisophical essay The Myth Of Sisyphus, a favourite of Dave's.

dimsim3478
September 6th 2017


7699 Comments


one look at the high ratings and the words "Titus Andronicus" and "Springsteen" and i knew this would be the kinda shit i'd go ga-ga over

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

so was it? (don't see a rating)

YoYoMancuso
September 6th 2017


12715 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Our Time Is Short fucking captivates me

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2017


1879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@row: i don't know about you but i feel like a proud dad

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

for me that's the tigers on trains effect; it's awesome when you help make a band popular on a site...I did for them so much so that the band members regularly email me new shit and ask how I like it lol



it's a great feeling...ty for introducing me to this band. they'll help fill the gaping hole left by Yellowcard and Brand New's departures



VaxXi
September 6th 2017


4135 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

is bleachers in the recommended section of this review because theyre both sitting on beds?

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yes

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2017


1879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

you're welcome sowing :], and that's rad! i had a brief interaction with Dave once he'd read our review and it was just sososos fulfilling. i'm glad you and most people around here are liking this album so much; these guys are special.

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

definitely. there's a ton of stuff here that gets overhyped (I'm a terrible offender obv) but every once in a while something really deserves it...this is one of those moments for sure. we always need more people like you and row and crypt introducing new bands to the site and not selling out like me, reviewing Brand New, Taylor Swift, and Manchester Orchestra like a groupie who stumbled up the ladder to staff reviewer

Gyromania
September 6th 2017


23452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So this is good? Never heard of the artist

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I hadn't heard of them either Gyro, they have only one other LP and they're from the down under so lol

If you like The National and/or Springsteen or even Titus Andronicus (kind of a stretch there, but it's more about the spirit), then you'll enjoy this 3.5+ guaranteed. But probably a 4.5 or 5 if you have feelings and a soul so yeah you'll prob 3.5 this ;-)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy