Gang of Youths Go Farther in Lightness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
September 4th 2017


25034 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thx =) Yeah Achillies might be my least favorite, it's too string-laden and lengthy for its own good. Still a 3.5/5 track tho which tells you what I think about the rest of this.

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

Ponton
Emeritus
September 4th 2017


6136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

damn sixteen tracks. really that good?

Digging: Car Seat Headrest - Teens of Denial

FreddieDelaney31
September 4th 2017


3331 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, really

Digging: Converge - The Dusk in Us

InfamousGrouse
September 4th 2017


4273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if they chopped four or five of them off, I wouldn't have complained

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 4th 2017


25034 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah some aren't as amazing/classic material, but they're all above average or better

and the ones that are good really fucking rock

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 4th 2017


5886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not really sixteen tracks tho cause like 3-4 are interludes between lengthier songs.

Digging: St. Vincent - MASSEDUCTION

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 4th 2017


5886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

L'imaginaire - Short instrumental.

Go Farther In Lightness - Short interlude.

Le symbolique - Song length instrumental.

Le réel - Short instrumental.



So yeah, it really breaks up the album so you're not just listening to sixteen consecutive long songs. It works... or at least it did for me. Then again, I listen to post-metal so...

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2017


2598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@ponton its the return of the The Dark Dark Bright hype : D

3waycrash
September 4th 2017


190 Comments


@Sowing Ah glad, I'm not the only one then. I was re-listening to the album the other day, and for some reason that song in particular just didn't sound as good as the rest

mortifierftw
September 4th 2017


110 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This is all I've been listening to these past few weeks





I feel like I've betrayed Brand New cuz I've been listening to this waayyy more

Jasdevi087
September 4th 2017


4556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yo this is crazy good where the fuck did this come from?

Digging: Tom Waits - Rain Dogs

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 4th 2017


5886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still prefer Brand New over this but lotta solid releases going round right now.

Green Baron
September 4th 2017


24102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Say Yes to Life bothers me still



Also Achilles is near the top of this

GreyShadow
September 4th 2017


1841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I couldn't help but smile when Say Yes To Life hit its instrumental climax.



I blasted my first full listen of this just recently at work while setting something up alone. I thought it got a little slow in the middle, but hopefully I just wasn't feeling something like that at the time. I thought this was at its best when it was at its most upbeat/punk. The first 3 tracks, Let Me Down Easy, The Heart Is A Muscle, and Say Yes To Life are the first listen highlights for me. I liked Persevere and The Deepest Sighs too. I'll spin the whole thing again soon so I can finalize an opinion, but the tracks that I like, I really really like.

GreyShadow
September 4th 2017


1841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I start my senior year of college tomorrow and I hate college but idk Say Yes To Life made me feel a bit hopeful

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 4th 2017


5886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whole album is a smile a minute.

BigTuna
September 5th 2017


5223 Comments


Persevere is pretty incredible.

Digging: Big K.R.I.T. - 4eva Is a Mighty Long Time

Ponton
Emeritus
September 5th 2017


6136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Bought a copy of this. Marathon of awesomeness so far.

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2017


1877 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

idk i feel like this is lame but it makes me genuinely happy to see you first time listeners digging this almost as much as i am :~~~)

WatchItExplode
September 5th 2017


4991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Today of all days...

see how the most dangerous thing is to love



That part alone keeps me coming back to Achilles



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy