Gang of Youths Go Farther in Lightness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Green Baron
September 2nd 2017


24104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's not cringey but it's painfully cliché and makes me want to say no

tom79
September 2nd 2017


3592 Comments


I tried 3 or 4 times but never could really get into The Positions but I think I'm gonna check this one out. My impression (from what I recall) were the songs felt overly long, lost steam or kind of wandered, but I always liked something about their sound/vibe and they seemed to have a lot of potential.

Digging: Iron Chic - You Can't Stay Here

Green Baron
September 2nd 2017


24104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well 9/16 tracks are longer than 5 minutes

tom79
September 2nd 2017


3592 Comments


I'll give it a shot.

"Similar Bands: The Smith Street Band, The Gaslight Anthem, Titus Andronicus, The Replacements, Cymbals Eat Guitars"

That is one fine similar bands list

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2017


22457 Comments


I just realised that the closing songs of my 2 favourite LPs of the year are:

- Say Yes to Life, and
- I Choose to Live

Hmmm, probably tells you how good my last couple of years have been!

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 2nd 2017


5931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listened to this twice and so far only some of the songs have clicked for me. Achilles in particular.

Digging: St. Vincent - MASSEDUCTION

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

alright hit me with the hot takes, which parts don't you like?

Digging: The Used - The Canyon

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2017


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

all of it tbqh >:/

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2017


1879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ramon accept my friend request >:/

Artuma
September 3rd 2017


29133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"That is one fine similar bands list"



agreed. also, as a lot of people have noticed, the national wouldn't be out of place either

JS19
September 3rd 2017


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dipped into this album when I first gt it and I thought it sounded a hell of a lot like the national. I mean it wasn't so much but the comparison is there for sure

Digging: Devictus - Mercury Haze

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 3rd 2017


5931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not that I don't like it, it's just that it's not my kind of music so it'll probably take a bit longer for me to digest it properly.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 3rd 2017


5931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Warming to it already. This is some happy go lucky shit right here.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 3rd 2017


5931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tentative rating.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2017


39435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

love you

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 3rd 2017


25051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Impressed, Ghost

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
September 3rd 2017


5931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gave this and new Rosetta a combined six hours of listening time today so may go up a bit but likely won't push the 5. Just a really warm listen from start to finish and the interludes help to make the runtime manageable.

Lucid
September 4th 2017


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

closer is laughably cringe and very rowanseason... rest of the album is decent though, some great tunes

re below: yah it's a 3.5

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2017


1879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

it's growing on you lucid?

3waycrash
September 4th 2017


190 Comments


Listened to this a few times, and found it to be quite solid. Fantastic write-up as usual, Sowing! Any thoughts on Achilles?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy