Septicflesh Codex Omega
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlackwaterPork
September 5th 2017


2428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Martyr of truth is an amazing bonus track, it's like music for the climax of a blockbuster movie.

Digging: Onyx - All We Got Iz Us

Pankar95
September 7th 2017


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent album overall.

Yes the sound doesnt progress a lot from Titan or The Great Mass, but it's not like there are any more bands doing this as well.

They are more than welcome to keep feeding me more of the same for years to come

InFlamesWeThrash666
September 7th 2017


7089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably my AOTY so far

Digging: Aetherian - The Untamed Wilderness

PlanetHell
September 7th 2017


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Positives:

+ It sounds like what they really wanted Titan to sound like.

+Use of the orchestra isn't an overblown cacophony (*cough cough Fleshgod Apocalypse*). It's dynamic, meaningful, and in my opinion, shines as the best feature on the album.

+It sounds HUGE. Lots of atmospheres to be heard here.

+Most riffs are nice.

+Drumming by Krimh is strong. They haven't lost anything by the previous drummer's departure.

+Most songs can be differentiated and have their own enjoyable quirks.



Negatives:

-Last time I enjoyed Sotiris' vocals was on The Great Mass (besides the cheesy track 'Therianthropy'). He was laughably bad on Titan and he doesn't sound too great here. In fact, I'd rather have him absent from this album.

-Siros' growls seem to have slightly atrohpied and are not as commanding as before.

-As the reviewer states, this is essentially Titan 2.0 (but better) and the direction SF have taken is becoming stale.

-The album seems to just be a collection of business-as-usual tracks rather than an expression of concepts, so although most tracks have amazingly shining moments, they also have really "meh, I've heard this before in Titan" moments as well.





All in all, it's a good LP, but it won't blow you away like Communion or The Great Mass did. If you absolutely hated Titan, this is an improvement and you should give this album a chance.

NonApplicable
September 8th 2017


2471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is the first Septicflesh record I love. Tried The Great Mass and Titan and while they had some amazing tracks, there were an equal number of boring ones. This one is great start to finish for me.

papudo
September 14th 2017


162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

by far the best deaht metal album of the year

Hellscythe
September 14th 2017


2137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah dude this is fun but that'd be the new Akercocke or Artificial Brain

Digging: Hail of Bullets - III: The Rommel Chronicles

Hawks
September 14th 2017


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Lmaooo this isn't even close to best dm this year.

Digging: The Body and Full Of Hell - Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light

InFlamesWeThrash666
September 15th 2017


7089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea boi

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


2428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Akercocke is winning so far imo

TheNotrap
September 16th 2017


8641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Significantly better than Titan. Portrait of a Headless Man is a killer jam.

Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

Hawks
September 25th 2017


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yes the sound doesnt progress a lot from Titan or The Great Mass, but it's not like there are any more bands doing this as well.


Abyssic put out a symphonic death/doom album this year that shits all over this imo. I know this isn't doom at all but you get what I'm saying lol.

WretchedCacophony
October 11th 2017


336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Probably my AOTY so far"



If you think so you should let Venenum change your mind.

Digging: Darkthrone - Transilvanian Hunger

WretchedCacophony
October 11th 2017


336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So this band has pretty much had the same sort of sound the last few albums? Are they worth checking out?

Ouroboros is pretty awesome if you really like this sound. They're from Australia (or New Zealand I can't remember) and their new album is great.

InFlamesWeThrash666
October 11th 2017


7089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you think so you should let Venenum change your mind.



will give it a listen man



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy