Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
anarchistfish
August 22nd 2017


26046 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Out of Range is a 5/5

Digging: 21 Savage, Offset and Metro Boomin - Without Warning

Beauers
August 22nd 2017


388 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

*facepalm*



Someone has given it a 1.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
August 22nd 2017


5899 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Someone" = Zippa.

Digging: St. Vincent - MASSEDUCTION

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

1 rating & posting in this thread = insta-ban



jk I think

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

mindleviticus
August 22nd 2017


9211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

>_> listening now

Crymsonblaze
August 22nd 2017


8218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Great review, Sowing, as expected

Still digesting this, but I think the novelty of "omg brand new brand new" is wearing off and I'm still loving it, so that's a good sign

mindleviticus
August 22nd 2017


9211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lmao dude you gave it a 5 and you're still digesting it

BigHans
August 22nd 2017


28548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm so obsessed with Gang of Youths right now I haven't gotten around to this, but I knew there was no better choice than Sowing to review this.

Groundking
August 22nd 2017


258 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review Sowing.



Deja is still best for me, and I wish this went harder a little bit more as it would push it up.



For me it's Deja>Science Fiction=TDAG>Daisy>>>>YFW

ProjectFreak
August 22nd 2017


2178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the Sowing review we all knew was coming, and it's a great one. I'm still reeling from this album. I'm hesitant to 5 it this soon, but it's definitely my AOTY so far. Sorry, Manchester Orchestra.



137, In the Water and Out of Mana are duking it out for my favorites.



Also since we're doing album rankings, TDAG > SF > Daisy >>> Deja > YFW. This may change.

DurzoBlint
August 22nd 2017


1335 Comments


I get some eleventh he reaches london vibes from this.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2017


19697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty fantastic review sowing, wouldnt expect anything less though

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks to everyone complimenting the review, once again I truly appreciate it.

@mind: I'm jealous you get to hear this for the first time, let us know what you think!

@crymson: same here, the novelty wore off because I have been spinning this on repeat since last Thursday...but I like it more now than I did then.

@hans: this album caused a huge backup for me, I need to check Grizzly Bear, Steven Wilson, and then GoY. Heard good things about all 3...and thanks < 3

@groundking: thx - and yeah there seem to be 2 main camps...the Deja side and the TDAG/Daisy side. I actually think this album channels Deja hard at times.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@projectfreak: Thanks dude, means a ton. This stole MO's thunder for me, and it's pretty clear that unless something massive comes along then this is comfortably seated at my end of year #1 slot. Also I agree with your ranking hard.

@durzo: you'll have to educate me

@conmaniac: thx =)

BigHans
August 22nd 2017


28548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lit Me Up is one of those great night drivers. Kind of song that would make a great back drop for a serial killer orientated movie.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

that's the most spot-on description of that song I've ever heard

juiceviaorange
August 22nd 2017


547 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This caused a huge backup for me too, Sowing. I need to get around to Grizzly Bear and QOTSA for starters, and new National is coming out. But, for now I'm really just jamming this because I've waited oh so long for this moment. I'm only allowing similar bands like Manchester, Kevin Devine, Thrice, etc. to sneak into my listening from time to time. #brandnewforlife



Oh, and great review and I completely agree with your albums ranking. There may be a chance that TDAG and Daisy are my top 2 albums ever, and I can see Science Fiction gliding right somewhere in between those 2.

Green Baron
August 22nd 2017


24102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This would be a great final note



and no shitty reunion album 20 years later, either

DurzoBlint
August 22nd 2017


1335 Comments


It isn't exactly the same of course, but it just reminds me of hollow be my name/banhus by Eleventh he reaches london. None of BN's other stuff does.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2017


16801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fantastic review Sowing. Also agreed with your ranking of their albums on the first page.



Heaven, Same Logic/Teeth, 137, In the Water, and the last two tracks are my favs.

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy