Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
June 12th 2019


31210 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

So anyway I have been really digging Batter Up lately

Digging: Bad Books - III

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2019


16084 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Batter Up has always been my favorite, really got me through some shit last year

ButtBoy
June 12th 2019


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I need to spin my vinyl again. Been too long. And gee it sure would be nice if the “limited edition” came with an actual case and not the paper bullshit they gave me. Also still mad that none of the trinkets and pictures in there meant anything or had any real significance

ButtBoy
June 12th 2019


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my favorite lines in the song is “I saw something in the night sky over Camden. I turned around and drove the opposite direction ‘cause I fear them.”

What do you think that’s all about?? So eerie

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 12th 2019


31210 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's about UFOs. That line about Camden is one of my favorites on the whole album. I don't live far from there so it's kind of a cool shout out.

ButtBoy
June 12th 2019


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

UFO seems like the obvious answer, but I don’t understand how it really fits into the song.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 12th 2019


31210 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Seems like there's two separate themes in the song but UFOs are definitely one of them. The whole "turning up your gravity and pull me in" verse as well as the eerie outro makes that clear. Lacey also has an obsession with the Stanley Kubrick movie 2001: A Space Odyssey.

ButtBoy
June 12th 2019


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah forgot about that other line. Still wonder if there’s any more significance to that choice

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2019


16084 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm sure It's using UFOs as a metaphor for the fear of what a life without Brand New as a creative outlet will be like or some shit like that

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 12th 2019


31210 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I'm a conspiracy theorist at heart and I still think that Lacey knew the allegations were coming. The UFOs are a metaphor for the women he hurt but he finally feels prepared to face them even though it will end his career. Give me your best shot. Batter Up.

Similarly "knowing" lines can be found throughout the record. Lit Me Up is like a prophecy for his demise. Can't Get It Out has that line about finally finding his courage. Waste details him and this mystery person being stuck like glue, and also "every night had you laid low, it's going to feel so good to let it go" - which alludes to him feeling confined and unable to move on, almost like he was being blackmailed and couldn't wait for the burden to be lifted... tons and tons of references across the album that feel all too coincidental.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2019


16084 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I've read into In the Water like that a bit

AdolfChrist
June 13th 2019


21277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i kinda doubt all of that, he probably wasnt even thinking about what he did way back when so many years later. maybe when the whole #metoo thing came about he got worried but idk.

Digging: Cosmic Serenity - New Leaf EP

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 13th 2019


31210 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah it's definitely a far fetched idea, albeit not totally impossible.

tectactoe
June 13th 2019


440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Batter Up is incredible. In my Top 10 BN songs for sure. TD&G is still my favorite overall album of theirs, but Sci-Fi has the best Opener/Closer combo without a doubt. Starting on Lit Me Up and ending on Batter Up, insanity.

Digging: Hatchie - Keepsake

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 13th 2019


31210 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Lit Me Up was one of my least favorite songs on this album when I first heard it and now it's in my top 5 BN songs of all time

tectactoe
June 13th 2019


440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never had that initial aversion to it, but I concur with the last part for sure. Probably in my Top 3, actually. Even that pre-recorded intro gives me chills now.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 13th 2019


31210 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

At first I just wished it "went somewhere", it seemed to fizzle out after the heretic line. Now I love it for the fact that it doesn't try to mash in a guitar solo that doesn't belong. It's such a great slow burner. Such a creepy vibe with those lyrics.

tectactoe
June 13th 2019


440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agree completely. Anything "more" would threaten to over-do it and ruin it. That final "it was a good dream" makes me nut every time. Serious. What a great fucking song.

Larkinhill
June 13th 2019


2503 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I really like Lit Me Up, awesome atmosphere, but it personally wouldn’t make me top 10 BN.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2019


14870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That final "it was a good dream" makes me nut every time [2] absolute chills, best moment here imo

The thing with Lit Me Up if that it does kick into gear, but it doesn't mix up the dynamics all that much. Normally that wouldn't be a good thing, but the song is so slick and tense that all its drama and intrigue are there from the start. It doesn't need anything brash or maximalist to take them further. That's quite unusual for Brand New in general, and it puts it straight into the top 10 for me

Digging: Bleach03 - Kibakuzai



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy