Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
June 13th 2019


34404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm a conspiracy theorist at heart and I still think that Lacey knew the allegations were coming. The UFOs are a metaphor for the women he hurt but he finally feels prepared to face them even though it will end his career. Give me your best shot. Batter Up.

Similarly "knowing" lines can be found throughout the record. Lit Me Up is like a prophecy for his demise. Can't Get It Out has that line about finally finding his courage. Waste details him and this mystery person being stuck like glue, and also "every night had you laid low, it's going to feel so good to let it go" - which alludes to him feeling confined and unable to move on, almost like he was being blackmailed and couldn't wait for the burden to be lifted... tons and tons of references across the album that feel all too coincidental.

Digging: Reckless Kelly - American Jackpot / American Girls

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2019


18776 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I've read into In the Water like that a bit

Deathconscious
June 13th 2019


24632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i kinda doubt all of that, he probably wasnt even thinking about what he did way back when so many years later. maybe when the whole #metoo thing came about he got worried but idk.

Digging: Defeated Sanity - The Sanguinary Impetus

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 13th 2019


34404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah it's definitely a far fetched idea, albeit not totally impossible.

tectactoe
June 13th 2019


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Batter Up is incredible. In my Top 10 BN songs for sure. TD&G is still my favorite overall album of theirs, but Sci-Fi has the best Opener/Closer combo without a doubt. Starting on Lit Me Up and ending on Batter Up, insanity.

Digging: Serpent Column - Endless Detainment

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 13th 2019


34404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lit Me Up was one of my least favorite songs on this album when I first heard it and now it's in my top 5 BN songs of all time

tectactoe
June 13th 2019


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never had that initial aversion to it, but I concur with the last part for sure. Probably in my Top 3, actually. Even that pre-recorded intro gives me chills now.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 13th 2019


34404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

At first I just wished it "went somewhere", it seemed to fizzle out after the heretic line. Now I love it for the fact that it doesn't try to mash in a guitar solo that doesn't belong. It's such a great slow burner. Such a creepy vibe with those lyrics.

tectactoe
June 13th 2019


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agree completely. Anything "more" would threaten to over-do it and ruin it. That final "it was a good dream" makes me nut every time. Serious. What a great fucking song.

Larkinhill
June 13th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I really like Lit Me Up, awesome atmosphere, but it personally wouldn’t make me top 10 BN.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2019


25667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That final "it was a good dream" makes me nut every time [2] absolute chills, best moment here imo

The thing with Lit Me Up if that it does kick into gear, but it doesn't mix up the dynamics all that much. Normally that wouldn't be a good thing, but the song is so slick and tense that all its drama and intrigue are there from the start. It doesn't need anything brash or maximalist to take them further. That's quite unusual for Brand New in general, and it puts it straight into the top 10 for me

Digging: Everything But the Girl - Walking Wounded

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2019


18776 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Even my brother likes that song and he doesn't like much of anything hes so picky lol

butt.
June 19th 2019


7415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

another shout out to the little medley at the end of Out of Mana. Secretly one of the highlights of the album and it gets stuck in my head every so often.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 19th 2019


34404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

one of my favorite parts on the whole album

tectactoe
June 19th 2019


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah that little acoustic stanza is amazing. would do evil things to get a "full length" version of whatever was kicking around in jesse's head when he wrote that.

Larkinhill
June 19th 2019


6625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Love it.

Hawks
June 19th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Scimence Fiction

Danred97
June 19th 2019


2472 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

451 has become one of my favorite tracks on here. That track took the longest to click with me, but damn if it isn't the perfect burst of energy to play right before the closer.

butt.
June 19th 2019


7415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know, it's so much fun. I remember smiling like an idiot the first time I heard that chorus kicked in.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2019


25667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yesss that song is top 3 here, love it





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy