Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
August 22nd 2017


23437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for me, can't get it out is the clear best song here. when he screams "manic depressant!" towards the end i get chills.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

me too man

not my favorite song (top 5 on album for sure!) but I understand the hell out of what you mean and I get chills at the exact same moment

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

iswimfast
August 22nd 2017


1427 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's when the groove hits in lit me up that gives me the most ~goosies~

dbizzles
August 22nd 2017


10392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, Sowing. I had a feeling you'd love this. Still isn't clicking with me, but it could be terrible, so there's that.

Digging: Summoning - Oath Bound

Gyromania
August 22nd 2017


23437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

high five sowing! good opinions itt



can't get it out, in the water, lit me up, and batter up are probably my favourites. 137 is also excellent but the chorus seems strange to me. starting to really dig 451, out of mana, and no control a lot more, feel like some of those might emerge as my favourites. can't seem to really get into desert, or could be heaven at all tho. seems like filler

jtswope
August 22nd 2017


5656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, yeah great review Sowing.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
August 22nd 2017


5899 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm now about 20 hours into this album and it's only getting better for me.

Digging: St. Vincent - MASSEDUCTION

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I may yet make a list for the tracks, but for me right now it goes:

1) In The Water (5/5)

2) Same Logic/Teeth (5/5)

3) Lit Me Up (4.75/5)

4) 137 (4.5/5)

5) Can't Get It Out (4.5/5)

6) 451 (4.5/5)

7) Batter Up (4.5/5)

8) Desert (4.25/5)

9) Out of Mana (4.25/5)

10) Waste (4.25/5)

11) No Control (3.75/5)

12) Could Never Be Heaven (3.5/5)

dbizzles
August 22nd 2017


10392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's 2017 and Jesse Lacey is getting lit.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

like a rag soaked in gasoline

Feather
August 22nd 2017


3956 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

As expected beautiful review Sowing, I agree on all fronts. Hell, I almost completely agree with your track ranking there. I had honestly lowered my expectations for whatever they were going to release just because its been so long and I didnt know if it would even ever happen. This is everything I could have asked for and more.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks so much Feather, means a lot. I feel the same way. I had kind of mentally braced myself for a 3.5 caliber album, aka I Am A Nighmare, Mene, Sealed To Me, Out of Range, etc. This blew my expectations out of the water.

GhostOfSarcasticBtrd
August 22nd 2017


5899 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I was expecting a mediocre effort as well. Unlike Converge who I still had full faith in.

Tunaboy45
August 22nd 2017


15609 Comments


sowing gave this a 5? I'm shocked

Digging: Converge - The Dusk in Us

wwf
August 22nd 2017


5660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah 3.5 was about what I expected as well



Also wtf sowing could never be heaven is the best song here

Digging: Terror Pigeon! - We Will Never Run Out of Love!

Feather
August 22nd 2017


3956 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I thought Out of Range was a great song, but I'm pretty sure that was leftover from the Daisy recordings.. regardless, I completely agree. I was fully braced for an album that sounded like Mene and Nightmare, basically ready for a 3.5.



Its been a few years since I've listened to Brand New tbh, I was so obsessed for so long that I really wore out all their albums. TDAG is honestly mentally exhausting at this point with how well I know every tiny intricacy of it. I'm pumped to have some good new material from them.. a little scared I'm gunna wear this out too fast considering its all I've listened to on repeat for a few days now.



Also: what are your thoughts on them eventually releasing a recorded version of Sealed to Me?

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Tuna - I should have reviewed this at a 2.5 just to mess with people as soon as it came out and then replaced it with this review today.

I enjoy it wwf but it doesn't give me that special vibe I get from the very best BN tracks. 3.5 is still great tho I enjoyed it for sure.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"a little scared I'm gunna wear this out too fast considering its all I've listened to on repeat for a few days now."

Same here for sure. With regards to a recorded Seal to Me, I'm obviously all in favor of as much recorded material we can get from these guys.

Feather
August 22nd 2017


3956 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I hope they just release more material. I can't even imagine how many demos and B-Sides BN have scrapped over the years.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

as much as I want to hope for more BN material, I have to just take Science Fiction as a win I never expected and let them hang up the mic in peace



if they do more then great, but I'm not expecting (or even allowing myself to hope for) anything else



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy