Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Observer
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2019


7032 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album just sounds like a mess and an attempt to be more edgy and sporadic. I hear weak songwriting and another identity crisis when i listen to it. But whatever, dig the rest.

Digging: Reuben - In Nothing We Trust

nolerthebowler
February 6th 2019


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yfw is a bit nostalgic and endearing, but overall it’s pretty mediocre

Deathconscious
February 6th 2019


22201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YFW is vomit inducing.

Digging: Pyramidal - Pyramidal

Wildcardbitchesss
February 6th 2019


3457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[2]

As is most of the early noughties pop punk emo movement bullshit.

Wildcardbitchesss
February 6th 2019


3457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And daisy is wonderful

Zorg
February 7th 2019


317 Comments


I'm not sure Lacey gets it out here.

Clumseee
February 7th 2019


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he can't he said it himself

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 7th 2019


32083 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

re: Modest Mouse, I agree that he adopted a slightly Brockish twang at times on Daisy (esp. 'At the Bottom'), but I don't think it really made its way onto SF. Same Logic/Teeth comes the closest, as Adolf already stated.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

QuinnObropta
February 7th 2019


142 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

YFW is super mediocre overall. It's got some killer tracks but a lot of underwhelming ones to fill the runtime.

theBoneyKing
February 8th 2019


17167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

So yeah, after revisiting this over the past week I had to bump it up to a 4. Don't really know what my problem was back when it came out. "In the Water", "137", "Can't Get It Out", "Same Logic", "Waste", and "Batter Up" are all so great.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 8th 2019


32083 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Boney once you've finished up with the band's discography (seriously don't rush it, there's so much to enjoy and layers to peel back...relish it) - I'd highly recommend their remastered demos. Here's a sample:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61QB03PlFAc

Eons
February 8th 2019


2366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How are you guys going to react when Jesse finishes his solo album and it comes out? Going into the record knowing things that you didn't know going into this album. Would you deny it based on moral objection, even if you like the songs ?

Eons
February 8th 2019


2366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To the Boney guy also check out some of their B-sides/covers like Fork and Knife and Am I Wrong? great songs.



Listen to the original Out of Range also, great song. Really really good.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 8th 2019


32083 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I can't picture him putting out a solo album any time in the next 10 years. I don't think he's going to do much beyond the production/studio side for other bands for a while (which I believe is his current means of income at this time). Anyway, considering a lot of fans might feel apprehensive about supporting Brand New, I think narrowing it down to Jesse makes it even dicier. I'd still buy if I liked the music, but I have a totally separate view of art and artist.

Eons
February 8th 2019


2366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've heard that he is writing songs though. I have to remember where though

Wildcardbitchesss
February 8th 2019


3457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Am I crazy for still thinking the band is gonna tour?



I just want to believe.

Cormano
February 8th 2019


1558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I've heard that he is writing songs though. I have to remember where though"



for real?

letsgofishing
February 8th 2019


1424 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I can't picture him putting out a solo album any time in the next 10 years."



So, the normal schedule?

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2019


16746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lmao

Eons
February 8th 2019


2366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I definitely remember hearing about him writing an album. I can't remember where... oddly I think it was on Instagram. Maybe his wife said it or something. I really don't remember but yeah, don't be surprised if he comes out with one in the next year or two. Because I heard the news like over 6 or so months ago now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy