Brand New Science Fiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theacademy
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2017


30791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

YES A 5



we dem boiz

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Aiwaz if this is your first listen, just wait. That's a good song but it gets so much better.



lol acad

anarchistfish
August 22nd 2017


26046 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

choo choo motherfuckers let's do this shit

Digging: 21 Savage, Offset and Metro Boomin - Without Warning

Lucid
August 22nd 2017


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the ~sowing review~ turned out to be more measured than expected. wonderful read even without the overbearing hyperbole ;)

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

In retrospect I totally regret not dropping a 2.5 review of this immediately and then replacing it with this today

and thx Lucid that means a lot - I really tried to rein in my raging fanboy on this one

Willie
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


17302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

--Right now I'd rank their discography as The Devil and God > Daisy = Science Fiction > Deja Entendu > Your Favorite Weapon. But time has a way of sifting things into place so that hierarchy could totally change in the next year.--



Well, that doesn't really give me much hope considering my favorite is Deja Entendu followed by Your Favorite Weapon. I'll listen on the way to work.

Digging: Adimiron - Et Liber Eris

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, it's kind of like if Deja and Daisy has a bastard child who went through all kinds of dark shit and got all cynical and riffy. You might still enjoy it.

Storm In A Teacup
August 22nd 2017


22238 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Your Favorite Weapon is still a monster jam for me. Listened to it last night in fact =)

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah deja and yfw are still 4.5 borderline 5's for me, so it's definitely all relative

Storm In A Teacup
August 22nd 2017


22238 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"testament to the records' endowment"



lmao

jtswope
August 22nd 2017


5657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In the Water is fantastic. 2nd half of this album really kills it especially.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah In The Water is probably my favorite song on the whole album, and a top-5 BN track to boot

Gyromania
August 22nd 2017


23452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album and review rule.



After several plays, gotta admit that devil is the better album

jtswope
August 22nd 2017


5657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah probably my favorite track on here as well.

AsleepInTheBack
August 22nd 2017


5125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stunner of a review Sowing, one of your best that I've seen. Cracking album too.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Gyro - I agree, the initial hype had me putting this on the same platform as TDAG but then again that's why I waited so long to review this. I'd put this on the same level as Daisy, although they're very different records. Also, thanks - a Gyro thumbs up is a glowing endorsement!

Thanks Asleep! I really worked on this one. Sadly, I have about 6 paragraphs leftover that I never ended up using. This piece was my third complete overhaul of a writeup - first was too gushing and immediate, second was too structured and didn't portray the emotion attached to this. This draft was my favorite at the end of the day.

Storm In A Teacup
August 22nd 2017


22238 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

1. Daisy 5

2. DAG 5

3. Science Fiction 4.75

4. Your Favorite Weapon 4.45

5. Deja 3.8

jtswope
August 22nd 2017


5657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TDAG>Deja>Daisy>SF>YFW

EvoHavok
August 22nd 2017


7238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really good review, as expected, given you had to live up to your username and your role as ambassador for the band.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 22nd 2017


25038 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@storm, Deja last is hard to swallow but it's 4th out of 5 for me so I can't argue it. To me YFW is the worst because it is the most generic and least ambitious of the bunch. With that said, I have tons of high school memories associated with discovering and listening to that album.

@swope, your ranking is very close to mine, just swap SF and Deja and change the > between Deja and Daisy to an equals sign.

@evo, thanks dude - I'm not going to lie I felt a little bit of pressure to make this review incredible but at the same time I didn't want to overstate/fall into hyperbole. Took a lot of repeated listens and writing do-overs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy