Filter Title Of Record
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SeanFracture
September 9th 2010


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

An album that was important to me in my formative years, it doesn't quite hold up 10 years on, but when it's good (Take A Picture, Captain Bligh, The Best Things, I Will Lead You) it's very good.

WILSON5
April 3rd 2011


23 Comments


To the author of this review,you may find Richard's shrieking unbearable but that's where the true metal lover gets an adrenaline rush.Metal is supposed to have a cathartic effect on the listener and get them pumped up.It shouldn't be judged on just how it sounds.Richard's energetic shouting along with the brutal rhythyms are all a true heavy music listener needs instead of just focusing on quality of lyrics or repetivieness.
And you say songs like Cancer are unimaginative but if you listen closely,maybe a pair of headphones might help,you'll find a darkly seductive distorted atmopsphere with a creepy chorus of "I AM A CANCER".
Unless you're just not into heavy music.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


21719 Comments


take a picture is so good

WatchItExplode
April 13th 2011


9344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Busted this out yesterday...forgot how good some of these songs are. The album definately starts to drag towards the end though.

Digging: She Said Destroy - Succession

PistolPete
July 17th 2011


5263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why was it such a big deal back in the late 90's to have songs at the end of the album that are like 20 mins long just because there's a hidden track in it? Deftones did that on "Around the Fur" too, so dumb and pointless.

ForeignFilm
December 20th 2011


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love this album.

rodrigo90
July 15th 2012


7060 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cancer and skinny are awesome!

jmnewcomer18
December 19th 2012


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is their best album but The Amalgamut is rigth behind it with a 4

henryChinaski
December 19th 2012


4463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this rules.

Digging: sam fender - Seventeen Going Under

jmnewcomer18
December 19th 2012


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is their best album but The Amalgamut is rigth behind it with a 4. How can yuo dis Miss Blue. It is the most beautiful song they have ever written. Probably the best on the album. Just because it is acoustic doesnt make it "uncreative".

jmnewcomer18
December 19th 2012


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"To the author of this review,you may find Richard's shrieking unbearable but that's where the true metal lover gets an adrenaline rush.Metal is supposed to have a cathartic effect on the listener and get them pumped up.It shouldn't be judged on just how it sounds.Richard's energetic shouting along with the brutal rhythyms are all a true heavy music listener needs instead of just focusing on quality of lyrics or repetivieness.

And you say songs like Cancer are unimaginative but if you listen closely,maybe a pair of headphones might help,you'll find a darkly seductive distorted atmopsphere with a creepy chorus of "I AM A CANCER".

Unless you're just not into heavy music."



Amen to that!





NOTINTHEFACE
February 6th 2013


2069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh my god this review is so awful I was such an idiot in high school. Oh well. Still the only reviewer

for this album.



And yeah I had never listened to metal when I wrote this. So the vocal style was really "heavy" to me

at the time. *facepalm*

jmnewcomer18
February 11th 2013


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ahhhh ok thats definitely understandable... Now that your not in high school you should redo this review, i really am curious on your opinion nowadays.

NOTINTHEFACE
February 15th 2013


2069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm not going to redo it but my overall opinion has not changed that much. It's an inconsistently great album and there's really not anything quite like it. I absolutely love Richard Patrick's vocals now (now that the metal in me has been awakened) and I appreciate the heavy moments on the album a lot more. Capt. Bligh, Take a Picture, Skinny, and I Will Lead you are all fantastic and everything else is good to great. I don't feel like there's any particularly weak songs anymore like I did when I wrote this review. On the other hand, even the good songs are slightly repetitive and the album still seems to run out of gas at the halfway point, like it presented all of its best ideas and has to rely on small moments of brilliance to keep it going, like the vocal effects in "Cancer" or the build-up in "I'm Not the Only One" for example. I got the Amalgamut a year or two after doing this review and I feel like it's a much stronger album, albeit a lot more mainstream. Either way, Filter is a really special band to me even though I give their individual albums fairly middle of the road ratings, and they're one of the few mainstream rock bands that I can honestly say I love.

Jeffrulesyou
June 26th 2013


1887 Comments


This is a great album. In my opinion, filter's best. If you haven't heard their newest check it out, it's pretty good.

slagun
November 30th 2013


813 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

time to check this out

dayweed
January 8th 2014


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not the only one is my favourite. Great album.

MRG
March 2nd 2014


1 Comments


I think this album can only be really appreciated if you think about in the context of American music in 1999. (Think Smashmouth, Sugar Ray, Lit, Hanson, LimpBizkit, etc.) It was atrocious. By 2006, when this review was written the landscape had changed - and some of the things that made this CD stand out had become commonplace and may not seem as interesting.

I remember being blown away by this CD in early 2000 - from beginning to end... At the time, there were a few bands working out different ways to use elements of electronica and melodic vocals in their music, Radiohead - Kid A, Taproot - Gift, Linkin Park, Deftones - White Pony, LimpBizkit, etc. In that context, I think the did a great job standing out with this one. The fact that it still stands up and sounds somewhat unique 15 years later says a lot.

sapient
March 14th 2014


2416 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is pretty damn awesome. probably one of the best mainstream rock records of the late nineties

Digging: Trivium - In the Court of the Dragon

sapient
April 28th 2015


2416 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

One of the better albums in mainstream rock during the late 90s



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy