Converge I Can Tell You About Pain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Demon of the Fall
July 27th 2017


14552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, pos. I love Eve, definitely could've been used as the centrepiece on a full-length. The t/t sounds like typical Converge fare, pretty good but nothing amazing.



As others have said I am surprised this counts as an EP.

Digging: Dead Can Dance - Within the Realm of a Dying Sun

pollastrerostit
July 27th 2017


46 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, now I'm all hyped for this

wwf
July 27th 2017


6570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is also p good

XingKing
July 27th 2017


15068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wasn't aware they were calling this an EP. I figured it was just a single with Eve as the B-side. Doesn't matter either way because the tracks are phenomenal. Since this is an EP, I'll be super bummed if Eve doesn't make it onto the LP though.

Demon of the Fall
July 27th 2017


14552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That would suck, agreed. I want to hear Eve sandwiched in-between some shorter and to-the-point hardcore goodness. I can just imagine an initial barrage of chaos to open the LP up, followed by the slower, more progressive Eve... similar to what they've done in the past with their longer cuts I guess.

XingKing
July 27th 2017


15068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^I'm hard just imagining this

Demon of the Fall
July 27th 2017


14552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm good at making other guys hard. I'm hard too, let's be hard together.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2017


17677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jamming now, damn Eve is pretty amazing.

Digging: Caspian - On Circles

ianblxdsoe
July 27th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i would rather have a full album of "Eve"s than "I Can Tell You About Pain"s honestly

XingKing
July 27th 2017


15068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A full album of Eve's might take away from how hard hitting the track really is.



"I'm hard too, let's be hard together."

It's a date!

AsleepInTheBack
July 27th 2017


6102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice one ian. So hyped for the album (whenever that drops). And that album art is gorgeous.

ianblxdsoe
July 27th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i agree, jacob bannon is a phenomenal artist

Demon of the Fall
July 27th 2017


14552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I don't think an entire album of Eves would work particularly well.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2017


17677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Balance is key

ianblxdsoe
July 27th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's true, i just meant i would prefer a more atmospheric and somewhat cathartic album than just blatant and raw hardcore since they've already done that a few times lol

Demon of the Fall
July 27th 2017


14552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think they still need to keep that raw, cathartic element, it's their bread & butter. I wouldn't mind mixing things up a little, of course subtle changes are always welcome... maybe something a little more progressive?



Can you imagine if they release a full-on prog-metal-core like album, complete with sludgy/doom-like atmospheric passages? They've experimented with parts of this on an album before (Axe to Fall) & I reckon they could pull it off.

XingKing
July 27th 2017


15068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I could dig an EP of more atmospheric tracks (this doesn't count). Like five tracks in a similar vein as Eve. I dunno about a whole album though because an aggressive album with atmosphere sprinkled in makes those moments more special.

Gyromania
July 27th 2017


29376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listening to eve for the first time atm

Gyromania
July 27th 2017


29376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

holy shit

Sinternet
July 27th 2017


21439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rules

Digging: LOFT - and departt from mono games



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy