Nine Inch Nails Add Violence
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JayEnder
July 25th 2017


6574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huh, interesting. I guess it depends on the area then. My whole life I've always seen it spelt with a "c"

butcherboy
July 25th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

spelled 'practise' in British English when used as a verb, 'practice' otherwise..

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2017


3194 Comments


American spelling is just regular 'practice.'

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2017


25478 Comments


haha love the last line of the first para. never really got into NIN other than some sporadic songs tho

Digging: Childish Gambino - 03.15.20

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 25th 2017


33631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this isn't a manchester orchestra review, neg'd



also this is great (both the review and the album)

Digging: Waxahatchee - Saint Cloud

TVC15
July 25th 2017


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Am I the only person who likes the last half of Background World



I actually wanna know how he degraded the loop like that

Digging: Failure - Fantastic Planet

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 25th 2017


33631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I dunno



to me it ruined the potential for an epic song, but what do I know

artiswar
July 25th 2017


9936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review summary reminds me of lyrics from Marilyn Mason's Burning Flag.



'multiply your death, divide by sex, add up the violence and what do you get?'

TVC15
July 25th 2017


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WE'RE ALL JUST STARS AND WE'RE WAITING

WE'RE ALL JUST SCARRED AND WE'RE HATING

CzechyGuy
July 25th 2017


179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is much much better than NTAE tho

TVC15
July 25th 2017


10330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really growing on me. This and NTAE have both been awesome

JayEnder
July 25th 2017


6574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lots of The Fragile vibes on here.



Also thanks for clarifying guys

user
July 26th 2017


1577 Comments


awesome awesome summary

ArsMoriendi
July 26th 2017


28824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

If Not Anymore wasn't on here, I'd be tempted to 4 this.

Digging: Goldfrapp - Seventh Tree

JayEnder
July 26th 2017


6574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Not Anymore is the only one that's kinda lame.

Deadwing42
July 27th 2017


226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think this is pretty easily the best thing he's done since the 90s. NtAE was very good, and I definitely see the parallels between it and Add Violence, but "This isn't the Place" and "The Background World" are a cut above anything on that album. "Less Than" is also pretty great; it's a hell of a lot more convincing than similar NIN tracks like "The Hand that Feeds" or "Came Back Haunted"

ArsMoriendi
July 27th 2017


28824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Year Zero is my favorite thing NIN ever did, so I really can't agree



Also, I used to be neutral on The Hand that Feeds, but then I saw it live and my mind was forever changed

artiswar
July 27th 2017


9936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like both Hand That Feeds and Came Back Haunted. Year Zero is not my fave but it's damn impressive. But I probably liked NTAE more than all those combined, so I hope this lives up.

charistsil
September 22nd 2017


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Legit review mate ! I will agree that this work isn't something that fans haven't heard before. Doesn't make this less appealing tho. I believe that Trent evolves the sound of NIN always and in every occasion. Less aggressive and less innovating yes but fans have to think 'This is what you really want?'. Trent by passing some really hard times put out one of the best gems ever made in music. It is like we want him to be in agony for ever in order to get pleased totally by his music. Personally I don't want him to go back to his old habits. I believe this is the thing with 'Add Violence'. Do you really want to add violence or not ?

altertide0
September 22nd 2017


3027 Comments


Haha what



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy