Broken Social Scene Hug of Thunder
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
hamid95
June 5th 2020


1011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's good, real good

Observer
Emeritus
July 18th 2020


9037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Really dig this, but I wish the momentum of the first half was carried all the way through

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 18th 2020


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed. not that the last handful of tracks are necessarily bad, maybe i just haven't listened to them enough.

Observer
Emeritus
July 18th 2020


9037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I just went through this again, and yeah they arent bad but the energy behind them noticeably drops greatly.

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 18th 2020


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they are pretty low energy, i felt like it could've worked if they dropped one or two tracks. Victim Lover in particular brings things to a halt, really plodding and i'm not into Haines' vocals

i remember the vinyl bonus track being pretty good too.

Observer
Emeritus
July 18th 2020


9037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Curious how this would have panned out if they switched some of those in with others and mixed up the tracklisting a bit.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2020


44405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Victim Lover is a highlight track imo (+ it's Lisa, not Emily). never really had an issue with the side-A/side-B switch esp since most of the upbeat vibes on side-A (and with this band in general) sounds secretly fatigued

Digging: yourboyfriendsucks! - Episode 1

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2020


46090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

can't agree with that critique either: Please Take Me With You is my favourite on this tracklist and the last two songs are magical too



if there's a weak point I'd swap out for Old Dead Young it's prolly Vanity Pail Kids, can't even remember what it sounds like specifically

Digging: Broken Social Scene - Old Dead Young (B-Sides & Rarities)

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2020


44405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

lolwat Vanity Pail Kids is probs the most distinct track here, rare moment of this band getting pissy

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2020


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“it’s Lisa”

ah. need to listen to this again lol

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2020


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been going back to this a lot lately, the second half has grown on me quite a bit. It's probably their second best after You Forgot it In People.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2020


44405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Ah yeah, second half does that. You Forgot It, s/t and this are all a similar level tbh but we don't talk about it because energy levels and sequencing

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2022


26865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Wow apparently I really liked this back in '17, I only remember Protest Song so gonna jam that and then check the singles.

Digging: Tomb of Annihilation - End of Time

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2022


44405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

this was definitely some of the best indie around at the time (probs still is; doesn't have much competition) but idk how much i overplayed it. Skyline definitely took a few hits

Protest Song, the t/t and Victim Lover are all sweet though, wanna rejam now hmmmm

theBoneyKing
January 14th 2022


21202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

B-sides/rarities comp is out today, prob gonna check.

Digging: 40 Watt Sun - Perfect Light

johnnyblaze
January 14th 2022


3353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stay Happy slaps

Sowing
Moderator
January 14th 2022


40056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was more excited about it when I thought it was a new LP but I'll still listen

Digging: Domestic Terminal - I Could See Midnight Sky

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2022


46090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

honestly b-sides from this band's golden period is reliably gonna be better than an actual new LP from them if Let's Try the After is any indication lmao

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2022


44405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

hop on dub rowan

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2022


46090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

shit rules as expected. really surprised how good the FRR era outtakes (Golden Facelift/This House is on Fire) are



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy